At Cowles, we champion scholarly pursuits by providing an environment conducive to study. Thank you for embracing responsibility and courtesy while using library spaces and collections, ensuring a positive experience for everyone.
We encourage all students, faculty, and staff to familiarize themselves with the Drake University Emergency Procedures Manual, as well as the policies listed below, to help us create a safe, respectful atmosphere that fosters academic excellence.
The public is welcome to use library facilities, provided such use does not interfere with the scholarly atmosphere we strive to provide to Drake students, faculty, and staff. Guests may consult our Guide for Guest Users [link to Guest User online brochure] for guest policies and privileges.
Borrowing and Renewing (combine and update Overdue Materials & Replacement Costs and Renewals Policy)
Confidentiality Policy
Public Use of Cowles Library Computers
Collection Development Policy Documents
Library Faculty Governance
Promotion and Tenure (current version)
Promotion and Tenure (previous version)
Curricular Policies & Procedures
Grading and Academic Integrity Appeals Process
Commencement Participation Policy
Cowles Library Web Site: Mission, Principles, & Purpose
Use materials placed on reserve by your instructors
FastTRACBorrow books directly from other Iowa academic library partners
Interlibrary LoanBorrow material from libraries around the world
Request a PurchaseAsk the library to purchase books or other research materials
Drake history and Iowa political papers
Digital CollectionsOnline access to unique items from the University Archives
Featured CollectionsBooks, eBooks, and videos we highlight throughout the year
Other Campus CollectionsHandpicked by experts for your area of study
Research ConsultationSchedule a one-on-one session with a librarian
Research TutorialA guide to the research process
Librarians who specialize in your area of study
Citing SourcesFind, organize, and use your citations
Study SupportWriting Center, Speaking Center, and Tutoring
What we teach and how we can help in your courses
Library LiaisonsConnect with a librarian
Course ReservesPut material on reserve for your courses
Help with course material adoptions and textbook alternatives
OERExplore, adopt, adapt, and create open educational resources
Publishing SupportResources to help you publish your research
Detailed information about each of our archival collections
Harmful Content StatementRecognition of outdated descriptions and depictions that may exist in some archival collections
CollectionsExplore our unique physical and online collections
Exhibits & DisplaysSee what we're currently displaying and enjoy fascinating virtual exhibits
Information about visiting and using the Archives
Archives Teaching SupportInvolve Archives experts and incorporate unique materials into your courses
Purpose and mission of University Records Management
Collection PolicyPolicies governing the Records Management program
Donate & Transfer MaterialsProcedures for requesting transfer of records to us
Education & TrainingTools to help you better understand records management
FAQWhat we do and why
VisitHours, directions, and guidelines for your Archives visit
Contact & ConnectReach, follow, and support the Archives
Guides, tutorials, and library expertise to help you succeed as a scholar
Using the LibraryBorrowing materials, finding a study space, locating services
Drake OnlineLibrary services and support directed toward Drake Online and other off-campus students
Feedback & ProblemsProvide feedback or resolve a problem with the library
Resources and information literacy expertise to support your teaching
Requesting MaterialsCowles Library faculty and staff profiles
News & EventsWhat's happening at Cowles Library
JobsStudent employment at Cowles Library
Where we are and when we're open
Alumni & VisitorsServices for Drake alumni and visitors
Navigate the library
Room ReservationsCheck availability and reserve a room
Computers & PrintingTechnology in the library
Library strategic initiatives and goals
PoliciesPolicies governing use of library resources, space, and services
Diversity, Equity, & InclusionLibrary support for diversity, equity, inclusion, and social justice
