Skip to main content

Cowles Library

 

Drake University Archives and Special Collections: Home

Here is where you will find information about hours, policies and access regarding the Drake University Archives and Special Collections

Hours of Operation

The Archives is open Monday through Friday, 8:00 am to 4:00 pm, or by special appointment.

Email: archives@drake.edu

Reading Room Rules and Other Policies

What do we collect?

Contact Information

Claudia Frazer                                       Archives Director                        515-271-3776   claudia.frazer@drake.edu

Bart Schmidt                                          Digital Projects Librarian            515-271-2940   bartholomew.schmidt@drake.edu

Kathy Lincoln                                          University Records Manager      515-271-2933   katherine.lincoln@drake.edu

 

About the Archives

The Drake University Archives and Special Collections facility officially opened in October 2013 and was formally dedicated on December 6th. Housed within Cowles Library on campus, the Archives is located on the second floor, in the northwest corner.  

The office and research space is 1,500 sq. ft. Here, researchers register, receive help navigating online finding aids, call for materials, and enjoy quiet study space. Also Included is a designated area for student workers to digitize and process collections.

The secure, climate-controlled collections space is 4,400 sq. ft. and has new high-density shelving in place, ready to receive the papers of Senator Tom Harkin in early 2015. A professional archivist will be working with this prestigious political collection.

In collaboration with the State Historical Society of Iowa, the University Archives will also be digitizing parts of the Robert D. Ray papers. Work on these very special materials, selected by and borrowed from the Historical Society, is projected to begin summer 2014.  

Campus Life

Drake University Freshmen, 1950.

University Records Management

The Archives also collects and preserves non-current University records of historic value from campus offices and departments. For more information, visit::  http://researchguides.drake.edu/recordsmanagement

Institutional Repository

eScholarShare@drake.edu is Drake University’s scholarly repository for faculty and student works, including published articles, books, special projects, and graduate theses and dissertations.