Skip to Main Content
In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...
Databases & Other Resources
AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology from Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Contains citations to items in journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports, in all areas of the life sciences and biology. Encompasses over 5,300 journal titles and 22 million records with coverage back to 1926.
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Collection of critical reviews written by leading scientists in 40 disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database of resources in a variety of formats that address environmental concerns.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
More than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources
MEDLINE (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 4,600 journals in the medical and health sciences. Links to full-text where available.
MEDLINE (PubMed) This link opens in a new window
National Library of Medicine's free version of Medline
"'Science.gov searches over 36 databases and 1,850 selected websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information, including research and development results.' Content is provided by 13 federal agencies including the National Science Foundation, Department of Agriculture, and the Environmental Protection Agency.
The site offers both basic keyword and advanced search options. Searching across one or all 12 topics yields ranked results that are clustered by subtopic or date, have links to Wikipedia, and may be sorted by date, title, or author. A summary of all results ranks the sources used in the search. Refining the search, limiting the results, or creating an alert is available from the results page. In addition to searching the entire site for documents, users can explore selected science Web sites from the home page. Sites are selected by information specialists/librarians, and each component is regularly updated. The subject categories on the home page provide links to a wide variety of sites. The main page also includes featured searches and Web sites and links to special collections, including special terminology and thesauri from sources such as DTIC, MeSH, USGS, ERIC, and DOE." from Choice, April 2009
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information. Drake University provides access to all of the book titles and a majority of the journal titles hosted on this platform, from 1995-present.
Visible Body This link opens in a new window
3D interactive anatomy, physiology, and pathology visualizations and animations. Note: Requires registration with your Drake email address.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window