Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...
Springer eBooks, 2010-2021 This link opens in a new window
A collection of electronic books in a variety of subjects. Users have the option to order a personal print copy of ebooks owned by Drake for $24.99 (regardless of the actual book price). These "MyCopy" books are soft-cover b/w print copies that are mailed to the user's address.
Dictionary of Biology by
The perfect guide for those studying biology, either at school or university. Including biographies of key scientists, it provides comprehensive coverage of biology, biophysics, and biochemistry, as well as key terms from medicine and palaeontology. There are also feature articles on important topics, such as genetically modified organisms.
Encyclopedia of Global Warming by
Publication Date: 2009-12-01
The subject of climate change has become an important issue over the past few years. Encyclopedia of Global Warming is designed to help the student or patron understand the environmental science, social issues and controversies surrounding this important issue. Essays explore a wide variety of topics, including fossil fuels, glaciology, conservation, human rights, pollution, society, science and water resources.
Dictionary of Developmental Biology and Embryology by
Developmental biology is the study of the mechanisms of development, differentiation, and growth in animals and plants at the molecular, cellular, and genetic levels. The discipline has gained prominence in part due to new interdisciplinary approaches and advances in technology, which have led to the rapid emergence of new concepts and words. The Dictionary of Developmental Biology and Embryology is the first comprehensive reference focused on the terms, research, history, and people of this field. This authoritative A-to-Z resource covers classical morphological and cytological terms along with those from modern genetics and molecular biology. Extensively cross-referenced, the Dictionary includes definitions of terms, explanations of concepts, and biographies of historical figures. Comparative aspects are described in order to provide a sense of the evolution of structures. All features of embryology and developmental biology are covered, including: Vertebrates, Invertebrates, Developmental genetics and Medical embryology.
Dictionary of Animal Behavior by
This dictionary covers every aspect of animal behaviour and includes terms from the related fields of ecology, physiology and psychology. Clear, concise entries are backed up by specific examples where appropriate, covering all aspects of behaviour from aggression to courtship.
Dictionary of Scientists by
From Archimedes and Copernicus to Stephen Hawking and Stephen Jay Gould, this is the most authoritative and up-to-date biographical dictionary of scientists currently available. Spanning over 2,500 years, it covers all areas of science, from physics and astronomy to medicine and ecology, including key figures in the fields of mathematics and technology. Offering clear explanations of the science itself as well as its historical significance, the dictionary includes coverage of all Nobel Laureates in physics, chemistry, physiology, and medicine.
Reference & Other Books
Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowPortal to over 500 highly regarded reference sources. Examples of sources covered include: Art, Business, Food & Beverage, History, Language, Law, Literature, Medicine, Music, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Science, Social Sciences, and Technology.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new windowAccess to dictionaries & reference works in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.