Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...
Databases & Important Resources
AccessScience Access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology from Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.
Annual Reviews Collection of critical reviews written by leading scientists in 40 disciplines within the Biomedical, Life, Physical, and Social Sciences including Economics.
InterLibrary Loan (ILL)
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Free to all Drake faculty, staff, and students. If there are books, book chapters, or articles that we don't have access to at Cowles, we can almost always get access to these items via another library. Order your items through Interlibrary Loan.
Search libraries across the country. The "Check for Full Text @ Drake" link will take you to an InterLibrary Loan request form.
Atlas of Human Anatomy by
Publication Date: 2010-05-03
See anatomy from a clinical perspective with hundreds of exquisite, hand-painted illustrations created by, and in the tradition of, pre-eminent medical illustrator Frank H. Netter, MD. Join the global community of healthcare professionals who've mastered anatomy the Netter way!
Netter's Sports Medicine by
Publication Date: 2009-08-21
More than 1,000 Netter images, along with photos of physical examination techniques and imaging examples, provide a rich visual understanding, while a bulleted text format, combined with a user-friendly organization by specific types of injuries, makes reference quick and easy.
Publication Date: 2008-10-23
The Sobotta Atlas covers the complete macroscopic anatomy in full detail and exceptional quality with almost 2000 figures. This unparalleled Atlas of Anatomy is organised by body region, mirroring the way you're taught during your dissection labs. Simple new introductions and general overviews help you to understand the more complex figures and connections - step by step.
The Architecture and Design of Man and Woman by
Publication Date: 2004-10-19
A glorious, unparalleled view of the human body . . . Revolutionary computer images from the creator of From Conception to Birth reveal the wonders and complexities of every system in the male and female bodies. The human body is a marvel of engineering. From the muscular and skeletal systems of the hand working in concert to allow us to type, eat, and caress, to the circadian rhythms of the heart and digestive system keeping things moving despite our consciousness being elsewhere, our bodies are far more complex and awe inspiring than any man-made creation. In more than 500 astonishing images, he dismantles each system, highlights the anatomical difference between men and women, and rebuilds the body from the molecular level on up.
The Oxford Companion to the Body by
Publication Date: 2002-02-07
The Oxford Companion to the Body is a fascinating and authoritative guide to every aspect of the body. It provides concise and readable accounts of the structure and function of all the major systems of the body and the causes of disorders that affect them. Interwoven with this coverage of the science of the body, are entertaining and informative articles on social and religious attitudes to the body, and its significance for artists, philosophers and writers.
Netter's Illustrated Pharmacology by
Publication Date: 2004-12-01
Netter's Illustrated Pharmacology is a vivid, uniquely effective visual presentation of the pharmacodynamic relationship between drugs and the human body. It offers a unique visual approach to learning the basic principles of pharmacology - providing the most authoritative and broadest possible coverage of both the basic science and the clinical applications of pharmacology in a manner that is both scientifically rigorous and enjoyable. Succinct, easy-to-understand presentations of introductory pharmacologic principles based on classic images by Frank Netter as well as dynamic new illustrations from other talented medical artists. Divided by specific organ systems, each chapter shows how drugs are used for specific disorders of that system. Full color illustrations showing the organ systems coupled with illustrations showing how a drug works at a particular physiologic site Illustrative conceptualization of pharmacology principles in summary format.