Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...
Our Coolest CBPA Databases
A few databases, provided by Cowles Library, that might be interesting and useful for all CBPA'ers!
Order a Book
Suggest a book for adding to Cowles Library's collection.
This form allows you to browse the tables of contents of scholarly journals and choose full text articles. To search for articles across multiple journal titles, use SuperSearch
Privately Held Companies
You asked for it, we got it! PrivCo has in-depth information concerning privately-held companies. Need business info on Red Bull or NASCAR or Gucci or the European PGA Tour? This is information (particularly financials) that is NOT available elsewhere. Check out PrivCo!
CBPA Databases - Top Ten
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 10,000 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete includes full-text coverage of nearly 2,900 business and trade journals.
CountryWatch This link opens in a new window
Up-to-date news and information on all of the world's countries.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Provides provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature
LexisNexis Academic This link opens in a new window
Provides over 9,000 full-text news, business, and legal sources.
Statistical Datasets This link opens in a new window
Statistical DataSets is a web-based research solutions tool that provides fast and easy access to more than 12 billion data points from licensed and public domain datasets within an easy-to-use interface.
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect including First Research Industry Reports provides company data on over 100 million privately held global companies (plus 145 million inactive global companies). It also includes information on public companies as well. For access to ANNUAL REPORTS, search for your company, then select ANNUAL REPORTS from the tab on the top.
Includes access to First Research Industry Reports covering 900+ industries and demographic data from Nielsen. TO ACCESS-->Scroll to the middle of the landing page. Click on link that says "FIRST RESEARCH". It will prompt you for an e-mail address, and you MUST enter a valid Drake e-mail address!!
This service also contains information on over 220 million individuals through White Pages Pro and executive contacts on over 90 million professional decision makers.
Mergent Web Reports This link opens in a new window
Access to an archive of corporate and industry related documents. Contains decades of company histories!
Wall Street Journal (Proquest) This link opens in a new window
Full text (updated daily) of the newspaper's eastern edition.
Dir. of Library Instruction
Contact A Librarian
Text your question to 515-650-4582
Live Chat with a Librarian