Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...
This form allows you to browse the tables of contents of scholarly journals and choose full text articles. To search for articles across multiple journal titles, use SuperSearch
InterLibrary Loan (ILL)
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Free to all Drake faculty, staff, and students. If there are books, book chapters, or articles that we don't have access to at Cowles, we can almost always get access to these items via another library. Order your items through Interlibrary Loan.
Search libraries across the country. The "Check for Full Text @ Drake" link will take you to an InterLibrary Loan request form.
Order a Book
Suggest a book for adding to Cowles Library's collection.
Key Theatre Arts Research Databases
Academic Search Ultimate
Scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 10,000 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals.
Over one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with software tools for teaching and research.
Cambridge Histories Online
Online version of the prestigious Cambridge Economic Histories Online for Europe, Latin America, India, and the Greco-Roman world.
Portal to over 500 highly regarded reference sources. Examples of sources covered include: Art, Business, Food & Beverage, History, Language, Law, Literature, Medicine, Music, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Science, Social Sciences, and Technology.
Duke University Press Journals Online (e-Duke Scholarly Collection)
Provides access to 39 Duke University Press journals in the humanities and social sciences. Can search across the entire collection or search individual journals.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
A collection of reference works on the Arts, Business, Education, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation & World, Religion, and the Social Sciences.
More than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources
Kanopy Streaming Video
Kanopy is a video streaming platform for libraries with a collection featuring over 26,000 movies, documentaries, and indie and foreign films from hundreds of producers including The Criterion Collection, The Great Courses, Kino Lorber, and PBS and thousands of independent filmmakers.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online These archives explore the ‘long’ nineteenth century’s diplomatic interactions, evolving education system, religious reform and social revolutions, and more, all while capturing the human experience through the unique intersections of gender, race, and socio-economic status.
Full-text of scholarly journals published by Johns Hopkins University and other university presses.
Entire run of Vogue magazine (US Edition) from 1892 to the present day.
Women's Wear Daily Archive
Entire run of Women's Wear Daily from 1910 to the present day.
Drake's Theatre Season for 2018-2019