Include:

• Who is the Collection Development Policy intended for? (e.g., Penn State-Harrisburg): "This document is not intended as a procedures manual, but rather as a statement of guiding concepts, goals, and priorities. As such, it should assist those who select library materials for purchase by providing parameters for a shared vision and consistent approach to collection-building, as well as to define for library staff, college faculty and administrators the scope and goals of the library collection.")

• And/or: Statement of Purpose

• QUESTION: Should the proposed new "Framing Statement/Statement of Guiding Principles" be combined with and/or merged with the introduction?

A. Library Mission Statement

To support the educational goals of Drake University by providing services, collections, technology, and learning opportunities that make it possible for faculty and students to successfully access and use information. In fulfilling its mission, the Library works in partnership with faculty and other members of the Drake community. Primary emphasis is placed on materials and services that expand upon and support the curriculum, and that support faculty teaching. Cowles Library Strategic Plan

B. University Mission Statement

Drake's mission is to provide an exceptional learning environment that prepares students for meaningful personal lives, professional accomplishments, and responsible global citizenship. The Drake experience is distinguished by collaborative learning among students, faculty, and staff and by the integration of the liberal arts and sciences with professional preparation.

C. Statement of Purpose

The Cowles Library Collection Development Policy is intended to guide the selection, evaluation, and de-selection of print and electronic materials for the collection, whether by purchase, gift, license, or subscription. The purpose of this policy is to provide a written statement of the Library's objectives in building its collection, to communicate these objectives and guidelines to all members of the Drake community, and to guide selectors when making individual decisions. As a statement of University Library policy, it is also used in determining the allocation of funds and as a source to identify areas of strength and weakness in our collection.

D. Intellectual Freedom and Diversity

The selection of items to be added to the collection (physical and electronic) is a shared responsibility of the Library and teaching faculty. That activity is guided by Drake University's commitment to maintaining the highest standards of academic freedom in the pursuit of teaching, research and the creation of knowledge. Academic Charter(See Section IV, p.3). The Library seeks to serve as a free marketplace of ideas, providing equal access to all points of view on all subjects of potential use or interest to its users. Neither physical materials nor access to electronic information is excluded from the collection because of frankness of language or controversial content, or because of the political, moral, religious, sexual, social, economic, or scientific views expressed, or because of the race, national origin, gender, sexual orientation, religion, or political affiliations of the author. Attempted censorship of library materials is in direct opposition to the American Library Association (ALA) Library Bill of Rights. Furthermore, attempted censorship is vigorously resisted by the Library as inconsistent with its responsibility to foster freedom of thought and inquiry. The Library recognizes its unique role in helping promote diversity by acquiring resources, both electronic and print, that strengthen the University's efforts to promote learning and education in the areas of diversity and multicultural studies (seeCowles Library Diversity Plan). The Library's collection must reflect this commitment by supporting research and study that enhances knowledge of our pluralistic society.