Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...

Cowles Library

 

Academic Publishing Guide, designed for Drake Faculty and Researchers

OER at Drake

Check out OER at Drake if you want to know more about how to use, and get involved with, OER (Open Education Resources)

  • NEW! Drake faculty can now apply for grants for either adapting existing OER into their courses, or developing their own!
  • We'd be happy to save either your publications or any OER artifacts you produce, using eScholarShare@drake .

Where to publish Open Access

SHERPA/RoMEO

Want to find out what your favorite journal's open access policy is?  Search for the journal title in SHERPA/RoMEO to find out what you are permitted to do with your article post-publication.

  • Green: archive pre-print, post-print or publisher's PDF
  • Blue: post-print (final draft post-refereeing) or publisher's PDF
  • Yellow: pre-print (pre-refereeing)
  • White: Archiving not formally supported

Remember that you can ALWAYS ask to retain the right to self-archive your article!


Open Access Directories & Repositories

Below is a PARTIAL list of some of the open-access archives available in various areas.

General

Directory of peer-reviewed journals that operate with an open access model, ie articles are freely available to anyone.

Aggregates high-quality academic research by aggregating peer-reviewed Open Access publications from across Europe.

The aim of ROAR is to promote the development of open access by providing timely information about the growth and status of repositories throughout the world.

Humanities

Open Access Press that publishes peer-reviewed monographs and journals in the humanities.

Also known as the "Perseus Hopper." Covers the history, literature, and culture of the Greco-Roman world.

Sciences

Access to more than 1.8 million e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance, and Statistics.

Publishes seven peer-reviewed open-access journals in a variety of scientific disciplines.

The Aquatic Commons is a thematic digital repository covering the natural marine, estuarine /brackish and freshwater environments. 

Social Sciences 

Contains an abstract database (915,000 working papers) and an electronic paper collection (800,000 full text pdfs).

Contains more than 3,000,000 full-text items, part of a large volunteer effort to enhance the free dissemination of research in Economics, RePEc.

Contains working papers, conference papers and journal articles in applied economics, including the subtopics of agricultural, consumer, energy, environmental, and resource economics.