Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...
Physics BrowZine Journals
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
more than 8,992 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals covering all major academic fields
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Online archive of the complete journal runs (excluding the most recent 2-5 years) in over 20 academic disciplines.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Indexing over 2500 journals in physical, life, health, and social sciences.
Springer eBooks, 2010-2021 This link opens in a new window
A collection of electronic books in a variety of subjects. Users have the option to order a personal print copy of ebooks owned by Drake for $24.99 (regardless of the actual book price). These "MyCopy" books are soft-cover b/w print copies that are mailed to the user's address.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive source for science articles and citation analysis.
Physics reference e-books
Dictionary of Physics (Oxford) by
"Contains over 3,800 entries covering all commonly encountered physics terms and concepts, as well as terms from the related fields of astronomy, astrophysics, and physical chemistry." Includes illustrations, diagrams and tables.
Penguin Dictionary of Physics
"concise definitions for every area of physics - from optics and acoustics to mechanics and electronics" Access through Credo database: in Credo - select "Find a Book" then type in title.
Drake University Department of Physics and Astronomy