Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...
ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new windowThe ATLA Religion Database is the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all scholarly fields of religion. Indexing journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in more than 60 languages, the ATLA Religion Database includes more than 460,000 article citations from over 1,500 journals, 651 of which are currently indexed. It also provides bibliographic coverage of over 260,000 essay citations from more than 15,400 multi-author works, and more than 423,000 book reviews.
Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowThe Philosopher's Index is a bibliographic database with informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology, and book reviews. The Philosopher's Index monitors over 550 journals from more than 40 countries and is updated quarterly.
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowElectronic archive of the complete journal runs (excluding the most recent 2-5 years) of over 500 journal titles in over 20 academic disciplines.
Project Muse This link opens in a new windowFull-text of 200 scholarly journals published by Johns Hopkins University and other university presses, along with full-text books in the humanities and social sciences.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new windowDigital collections of primary sources from the 19th-century, including a collection of material on Religion, Society, Spirituality and Reform.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete includes more than 8,992 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
InterLibrary Loan (ILL)
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Free to all Drake faculty, staff, and students. If there are books, book chapters, or articles that we don't have access to at Cowles, we can almost always get access to these items via another library. Order your items through Interlibrary Loan.
Search libraries across the country. The "Check for Full Text @ Drake" link will take you to an InterLibrary Loan request form.
Reference Books Online
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Search by topic to find both print and online Reference books.
Journals Held by Drake
A-Z Journal List
This resource lists all of the journal, magazine and newspaper titles that Cowles Library holds in print or has access to online. Simply type in title of publication in the search box to see if we have it in either format. If not, you may request an article on ILL.
Philosophy & Religion Department