Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...
This guide provides links and instructions for using the online resources from Cowles Library, Drake University.
It is designed specifically for Online Programs students, but may be used by all Drake students.
Logging In to Library Resources
You will need your Drake ID (9 digits) and your Drake password to log in to library resources. There is no separate password or card required.
If your login is not working, call the Drake ITS Help Desk at 515-271-3001.Phone support is available 24/7.
The ITS Service Portal can help you with Blackboard or other computer problems
Contacting Cowles Library
Cowles Library Phone 515-271-2111
Databases have journal, magazine, and newspaper articles. Some will have videos, archival materials, or eBooks.
All are available to you as a Drake student.
A listing, with links, of all of our databases. Roughly half are included in the SuperSearch search.
SuperSearch searches roughly half of our databases simultaneously. Many students find it useful, while others prefer a more specific search
This growing subscription package contains a large selection of multidisciplinary e-books representing a broad range of academic subjects.
Business Expert Press eBooks
Access to over 300 eBooks that focus on international business, mergers, finance, accounting, social networking, and many more related areas. All eBooks offer no DRM (Digital Rights Management), Downloadable PDFs, and unlimited users.
Springer eBooks, 2010-2020 Collections
A collection of electronic books in a variety of subjects. Users have the option to order a personal print copy of ebooks owned by Drake for $24.99 (regardless of the actual book price). These "MyCopy" books are soft-cover b/w print copies that are mailed to the user's address.
InterLibrary Loan (ILL)
InterLibrary Loan (ILL)
Free to all Drake faculty, staff, and students. If there are books, book chapters, or articles that we don't have access to at Cowles, we can almost always get access to these items via another library. Order your items through InterLibrary Loan.
Search libraries across the country. The "Check for Full Text @ Drake" link will take you to an InterLibrary Loan request form.
Online Graduate Programs Librarian
Citation Help & Management