Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...

Cowles Library

 

New York Times: Home

How to access the online version of the New York Times at Drake University.

New York Times

Drake University students, faculty, and staff can receive online access to the New York Times through its web site (http://www.nytimes.com/) via a subscription paid for by the Cowles Library.

Questions about the site license and access can be directed to Laura Krossner (laura.krossner@drake.edu). 

 

Note: if the registration page link below doesn't load properly for you while you are on campus, please try forgetting the Eduroam wifi network and re-adding it, then trying again.  You can find instructions on how to do this here.  Alternatively, use a different wifi connection or your phone's data plan to register, then rejoin Eduroam after registering.


To register if you are using a computer or other device on-campus or off-campus, go to https://cowles-proxy.drake.edu/login?url=https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/

  1. Enter or select "Drake University" from the Find School... dropdown menu.
  2. Click on "Create Account" to set up a NYTimes.com account; you will be asked to provide an email address and create a password--you must register using your Drake email address (@drake.edu).
  3. Click "Create Account."
  4. You will then see "Check your email." Look for a message from the New York Times ("Confirm Your Email Address"), which should arrive within 15 minutes.
  5. Click on the link in the email. This will verify your eligibility and grant you access to nytimes.com.

Registered students, faculty, and staff will have online access to the New York Times from anywhere and on any device (computer, phone, tablet).

This institutional site license provides access to the content of the New York Times from 1851 to present.  Users are able to access up to five articles per day (per user) from the 1923 to 1980 period (up to a total of 155 articles per month).  Access to content from 1851 to 1922 and from 1981 to present is unlimited.

In addition, access to the content of every print edition of The New York Times from 1851 through 1980 is available via the TimesMachine, an interactive digital version of The New York Times print archive. The TimesMachine allows users to read the complete print editions of The New York Times as they originally appeared--with every article provided in a legible, linkable, and shareable fashion.  While searching is possible within individual issues of the paper, it is not possible to search across different issues of The New York Times in TimesMachine.

Searching across issues and years remains available via the Library database New York Times Historical – available on and off-campus.  This database from ProQuest provides complete access to The New York Times from 1851 to 2010.

The site license also provides access to some special content aimed at higher education: http://NYTimes.com/edu (to get initial access to the education web site, you may need to register--use the option at the top right hand corner of the screen; if you register, be sure to use your Drake email address; the password you choose for the education web site can be different than the password used for the New York Times academic site license).
 
Questions:
 
I already have a subscription to the New York Times that includes online access; does the College site license affect that personal subscription?
No, it doesn’t.  Your personal subscription and the College site license are separate.  Your options are the following:

If you already have a personal subscription that provides online access to the New York Times,  you probably do not want to use the College site license.  Some personal subscriptions offer greater online access than is available through the College site license.

If you wish, you can wait for your personal subscription to end and then register for the College site license.  Registration for the site license can occur at any time.

Or, you can keep your personal subscription and register for the College site license as well.  To do so, you need to make sure that your personal subscription is not registered under your College email address.  If it is, go into your personal New York Times account and change the preferred email address to something other than yourname@drake.edu.  You can then register for the College site license using your campus email address.  The same email address cannot be used on multiple New York Times accounts

How do I know if I have registered for the site license correctly?
Once you have registered for the site license and have signed in, your college email user name will appear in the upper right hand corner of the New York Times web page.  If you click your user name, you will see a dropdown of options.  Under "My Account", click "Subscriptions" and then next to "NYTimes: All Digital Access,"  click "See what's included."  If you have registered correctly, you will see a note at the top that reads "You’ve received access to The New York Times from somenumber@grp.nytimes.com."

Will I ever need to sign in after I have successfully registered?
Yes, unless you see your college email user name in the upper right hand corner of the New York Times web page, you need to sign in to get the access granted under the site license.

What happens next year? 
Upon registration, you are granted online access to the New York Times for one year.  After that year, you will be required to renew your registration and will be granted an additional one year of access.  Basically, the site license requires an individual to renew their registration once per year in order to maintain access.
 
Does the College site license allow me to use the New York Times as a resource for my class?
Yes, it does.  Besides the special educational web sites, nytimes.com links can be incorporated into class pages on Blackboard.

Are the New York Times crosswords available through the site license?
No, unfortunately, they are not.  The crosswords are available through a separate web site--and represent a separate revenue stream for the company.

Electronic Resources Manager

Laura Krossner's picture
Laura Krossner
Contact:
515-271-2475