BIOSIS Citation IndexThis link opens in a new windowContains citations to items in journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports, in all areas of the life sciences and biology. Encompasses over 5,300 journal titles and 22 million records with coverage back to 1926.
BIOSIS Citation Index combines the Biological Abstracts journal material as well as additional book, patent, and meeting content that is critical to life sciences research. BIOSIS Citation Index also allows for the added Web of Science specialized indexing, which helps the researcher discover what items their content cited and what items cited their content.
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments)Online peer-reviewed journal devoted to the publication of biological and neuroscience research in a video format. We have a subscription to JoVE Biology and JoVE Neuroscience. These articles are designated by blue B and green N in the upper right corner.
Web of Science, a database that provides quick and powerful access to the world's leading citation databases and sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities research content.
(Includes: Biosis Citation Index, Currents Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, MEDLINE, SciELO Citation Index, Zoological Record, and the Web of Science Core Collection: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index.)
Book CatalogCowles library's online catalog of books and ebooks.
JournalsDirect access to Cowles Library's journal collection. Search by title or browse by subject. Electronic journals are available through this link.
Visible BodyVisible Body is a 3D human anatomy and physiology teaching tool that has a module (Human Anatomy Atlas) of the human body that allows you to rotate and move different parts, highlight specific areas, as well as remove or add different layers of skin, muscle, and bone etc. http://www.visiblebody.com/moviedemo/
It also has a module for physiology animations, muscle and skeletal animations, and quizzes. Visible Body Premium package contains the following:
• Human Anatomy Atlas
• Physiology Animations
• Muscle Premium
• Skeleton Premium
• Heart & Circulatory Premium
The database does not work in Chrome and requires you to launch a web application. For more information see https://library.drake.edu/find/article-databases/title/visible-body/
Free to all Drake faculty, staff, and students. If there are books, book chapters, or articles that we don't have access to at Cowles, we can almost always get access to these items via another library. Order your items through Interlibrary Loan.