Research Guides: FYS 2 Hollywood in the 1930's: Home

The Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature are shelved in the Reference collection on the Main Floor of Cowles Library (REF AI 3 .R48). Use these to identify magazine articles about your topic. The articles may be available in print or electronically.

Find Journals

This form allows you to browse the tables of contents of scholarly journals and choose full text articles. To search for articles across multiple journal titles, use SuperSearch.

SuperSearch

American Decades: 1930s

American Decades Primary Sources
includes full or excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes, movements and events from a decade. Includes oral histories, songs, speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws, legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more.
American Decades 1930s
Cross-disciplinary source for researchers who need to document and analyze periods of contemporary American social history

Electronic magazines & newspapers from the 1930's

Chicago Tribune (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Digital version of the Chicago Tribune (1849-1989).
Harper's Digital Archives This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from this general-interest magazine covering literature, politics, culture and the arts. Coverage: 1850-Present
Life Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Archive of Life Magazine, covering 1936-2000.
New York Times (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
Full-text including scanned digital images of the New York Times, 1851-2009
Periodicals Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Features some popular newspapers and periodicals from the 1930's, including Maclean's, Better Homes and Gardens, Good Housekeeping, Ladies Home Journal, The Monthly Film Bulletin, Parents, Redbook, Sight & Sound, The Spectator, Vogue, and Women's Wear Daily.
Time Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Archive of Time Magazine, covering 1923-2000.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
Entire run of Vogue magazine (US Edition) from 1892 to the present day.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Archive of consumer magazines aimed at a female readership, including Better Homes & Gardens, Chatelaine, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents, and Redbook.

Databases

America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Database of full text coverage of the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Reference Universe allows users to search the indexes and tables of contents of Cowles Libraryâ€™s extensive print and electronic reference collections, including specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, and almanacs.