Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...
APA Style Citation Information
APA Formatting - Purdue OWL
The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) provides resources on in-text citation and bibliographies, as well as sample papers and slide presentations.
"You’ll discover that different academic disciplines have different rules and protocols concerning when and how to cite sources, a practice known as “citation.” For example, some disciplines use footnotes, whereas others use parenthetical in-text citations; some require complete bibliographic information on all works consulted, whereas others require only a list of “Works Cited.”"
When to cite sources
"You’ll discover that different academic disciplines have different rules and protocols concerning when and how to cite sources, a practice known as “citation.” For example, some disciplines use footnotes, whereas others use parenthetical in-text citations; some require complete bibliographic information on all works consulted, whereas others require only a list of “Works Cited.”...."
InterLibrary Loan (ILL)
InterLibrary Loan (ILL)
Free to all Drake faculty, staff, and students. If there are books, book chapters, or articles that we don't have access to at Cowles, we can almost always get access to these items via another library. Order your items through InterLibrary Loan.
Search libraries across the country. The "Check for Full Text @ Drake" link will take you to an InterLibrary Loan request form.
A Fair(y) Use Tale: A Lesson on Copyright
This form allows you to browse the tables of contents of scholarly journals and choose full text articles. To search for articles across multiple journal titles, use SuperSearch
Online Journal Articles, Databases & Newspapers
Academic Search Ultimate
Scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 10,000 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals.
Chicago Tribune (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
Digital version of the Chicago Tribune (1849-1989).
Harper's Digital Archives
Full-text articles from this general-interest magazine covering literature, politics, culture and the arts. Coverage: 1850-Present
More than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources
Life Magazine Archive
Archive of Life Magazine, covering 1936-2000.
New York Times (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
Full-text including scanned digital images of the New York Times, 1851-2009
Periodicals Archive Online
Archive of backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences, spanning more than two centuries of content, 37 key subject areas, and multiple languages.
Full-text of scholarly journals published by Johns Hopkins University and other university presses.
Time Magazine Archive
Archive of Time Magazine, covering 1923-2000.
Women's Magazine Archive
Archive of consumer magazines aimed at a female readership, including Better Homes & Gardens, Chatelaine, Good Housekeeping, Ladies' Home Journal, Parents, and Redbook.
Director, University Archives & Special Collections
Contact A Librarian
Text your question to 515-650-4582