Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...
Oxford Handbook of Endocrinology and Diabetes by
Publication Date: 2014-06-17
The indispensable guide to all aspects of clinical care, the Oxford Handbook of Endocrinology and Diabetes has been fully revised for its third edition. Concise, practical, and packed with vital information and invaluable hands-on advice, this is the must have resource for all those managingpatients with endocrine and diabetic disorders.This unique pocket guide has been updated with new dedicated chapters on endocrine surgery, endocrinology and ageing, and obesity, as well as new topics, including intrinsic imperfections of endocrine replacement therapy, transition to adult care, and survivors of childhood cancer. Written inconjunction with the Oxford Textbook of Endocrinology and Diabetes, it covers clinical investigation and management of both common and rare conditions.
Managing Diabetes by
Publication Date: 2013-12-18
Managing Diabetes is a up-to-date, comprehensive showcase of the current pharmaceutical trends in treating diabetes and provides a unbiased, inclusive discussion of current and emerging treatments by well-known experts in the field.
Diabetes in Women by
Publication Date: 2010-07-01
Diabetes is a unique condition for women. When compared with men, women have a 50 percent greater risk of diabetic coma, a condition brought on by poorly controlled diabetes and lack of insulin. Women with diabetes have heart disease rates similar to men, but more women with diabetes die from a first heart attack than do men with diabetes. Diabetes also poses special challenges during pregnancy. This new book discusses and presents topical data on the effects of diabetes in women, such as: diabetes mellitus in pregnant women and birth outcomes, assessing bone condition in women with Type 2 diabetes, depression and cardiovascular disease in women with diabetes, and others.
Exercise and Diabetes by
Publication Date: 2013-07-23
The purpose of this book is to cover the recommended types and quantities of physical activities that can and should be undertaken by all individuals with any type of diabetes, along with precautions related to medication use and diabetes-related health complications. Medications used to control diabetes should augment lifestyle improvements like increased daily physical activity rather than replace them.
Up until now, professional books with exercise information and prescriptions were not timely or interactive enough to easily provide busy professionals with access to the latest recommendations for each unique patient
Diabetes Management in Clinical Practice by
Call Number: RC660 .F66 2010
Publication Date: 2014-03-05
At a time when clinicians are bombarded with masses of clinical information from numerous sources, and the wide variety of changes/advances in diabetes management, there is a need for a concise, easy-to-read book that provides an up-to-date review of the major advances in management of diabetes, with an evidence-based approach. This book is a collection of short chapters, each focused on a subject related to the management of diabetes and its complications. The text is highly evidence based and well referenced with reviews of relevant trials. It includes the latest developments in diabetes management, prospects for future therapies and avenues of research, as well as therapies currently undergoing clinical trial.
Prescribing in Diabetes by
Call Number: RC661 .A1 H55 2008
The book provides in-depth information on therapeutic decision-making. Clear information is provided regarding diagnosing and managing a diabetic patient's blood glucose. Therapeutic options are discussed, including lifestyle management, oral hypoglycemic and insulin therapy. It also reviews diabetic complications and their management...This is an excellent reference for healthcare professionals managing the care of diabetic patients. Important information is clearly presented in tables. Many pictures and illustrations complement the text.
Integrated Diabetes Care by
Publication Date: 2016-11-11
Integrated Diabetes Care- A Multidisciplinary Approach collates evidence of worldwide approaches to both horizontal integration (across disciplines) and vertical integration (across organizations) in diabetes care and describe what was done, what worked and what appeared to be the barriers to achieving the goals of the programmes. Evidence is sought from groups who have developed different approaches to integrating diabetes care in different health systems (eg insurance vs tax payer funded, single vs multiple organization, published vs unpublished).
Educating Your Patient with Diabetes by
Publication Date: 2009-01-01
Diabetes affects an estimated 20 million people in the United States, with many people remaining unaware that they suffer from the disease. While the number of diabetics continues to rise, the number of caregivers who specialize in diabetes treatment does not. In Educating Your Patient with Diabetes, Katie Weinger and Catherine Carver assemble commentary from a panel of leading diabetes practitioners and researchers and put together a highly readable guide to supplying patients with diabetes with the information and ability to successfully cope with their disease. The authors and editors provide substantive data on successful models of diabetes education and the process of educating diabetes sufferers. Additional chapters discuss diabetes in pregnancy, the challenge of weight and diabetes management in clinical practice, and diabetes education in geriatric populations.
Nutritional and Therapeutic Interventions for Diabetes and Metabolic Syndrome by
Publication Date: 2012-01-31
Diabetes mellitus affects approximately 20 million people in the US, or nearly 7% of the population. It is expected to increase by 70% within the next 25 years and numerous epidemiologic studies have demonstrated that type 2 diabetes increases the risk of cardiovascular morbidity and mortality. It is estimated to cost over $92 BILLION in health care costs and lost productivity.
Nutritional and Therapeutic Intervention of Diabetes and Metabolic Syndrome provides an overview of the current epidemic, outlines the consequences of this crisis and lays out strategies to forestall and prevent diabetes, obesity and other intricate issues of metabolic syndrome. The contributing experts from around the world give this book relevant and up-to-date global approaches to the critical consequences of metabolic syndrome and make it an important reference for those working with the treatment, evaluation or public health planning for the effects of metabolic syndrome and diabetes.
A Practical Manual of Diabetic Foot Care by
Publication Date: 2008-04-15
Winner of 'BMA Book of the Year' in 2004 Judges' summary of the book: "This is a first-class text on the management of all aspects of the diabetic foot. It is a practical guide with information and advice, which is easy to access. It takes the reader through the natural history of the diabetic foot from the normal foot and relatively minor pathology to the end stage of infection, gangrene and ultimately amputation. The various stages with the book's structure have case studies to highlight the clinical management problems encountered by diabetes foot specialists....specialty which is particularly reliant on observation.
Diabetic Retinopathy: Current Pharmacologic Treatment and Emerging Strategies by
Publication Date: 2017-04-19
A well-illustrated and comprehensive analysis of the treatment of diabetic retinopathy, this book covers current treatment options and guidelines, whilst also providing a detailed discussion of emerging therapeutic targets. Existing therapeutic options are covered in depth, with a major focus on anti-vascular endothelial growth factor drugs and sustained release corticosteroids, including a review of trial results supporting current treatment guidelines. The use of agents off-label is also discussed. Controversial topics are discussed in detail with an emphasis on helping the reader make informed decisions, particularly when treating patients for which several treatment approaches may be appropriate because trial data does not clearly define the best option. Promising new drugs, targets and delivery systems are identified, and their development analysed.
Live Chat with a Librarian
A few of our endocrinology focused journals
Graduate Health Professions Librarian
AccessPharmacy A curricular resource - select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references.
MEDLINE (PubMed) National Library of Medicine's free version of Medline
Natural Medicines Combined database containing both Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. The premiere evidence based complimentary and alternative medicine database. Effectiveness of treatments for various disease states is ranked based on analysis of the primary literature.
Springer eBooks, 2010-2020 Collections A collection of electronic books in a variety of subjects. Users have the option to order a personal print copy of ebooks owned by Drake for $24.99 (regardless of the actual book price). These "MyCopy" books are soft-cover b/w print copies that are mailed to the user's address.