Skip to Main Content
In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...
Other Web Resources
Collective Biographies of Women
"[Collective Biographies of Women] originally included a basic bibliography of of 930 English language collective biographies published between 1830 and 1940...[T]his original bibliography has expanded to the year 1950, with 1,200-plus works now included...[T]he site also includes a highly selective listing of works published before 1830 (52 works, dating back to the 14th century." [Choice, Aug. 2011]
International Center for Research on Women
"...[P]rovides access to a library collection of over 13,000 reports, books, fact sheets, and policy briefs that focus on gender and women's issues in an international context. It appears that they are narrow in their scope (i.e., women's issues), but the subjects are broad based and global in perspective...a great resource for researchers and activists who need fact sheets, surveys, policy briefs, and brochures on global issues with a focus on women and gender..." [Choice Online, Sept. 2011]
Society for the Study of American Women Writers
This site is of interest primarily to "faculty, professional writers and graduate students." There is a syllabus exchange, new book recommendations, and links to other sites of interest to those engaged in the study of American women writers. There are also links to special collections and archives. [Choice Online, March 2013]
This site was originally underwritten by the Legal Defense and Education Fund of the National Organization for Women, but it is now independent. It carries news that is "of particular concern to women." [http://womensenews.org/about-womens-enews-mission] Coverage is international and includes Spanish language news items and a link to an Arabic version of the page.
Women's Sports Foundation
The Women's Sports Foundation was founded in 1974 by Billie Jean King. The organization's web site contains "research reports, news, and grant and scholarship information." [Choice, July, 2010] There are numerous sources relating to Title IX as well as financial and practical information for athletes, parents, and coaches.
Woman Stats Project
"[T]he Woman Stats Project (WSP) seeks to examine the relationship between the circumstances of women and the stability of particular nations... [T]he WSP compiles information about women's issues from sources such as government agencie, scholarly articles, books, news reports, and interviews." (Choice Reviews, Sept. 09) You must set up a free account to use this database.
Women's and Gender Studies Databases
Archives of Sexuality & Gender This link opens in a new window
Archive of primary sources covering social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world.
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
A database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas.
Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new window
Primary source archive tracing the path of women’s issues from past to present.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Primary sources, documents, and teaching tools focused on women's activism in public life and social movements.
Adam Matthew Explorer
This database includes thematic collections of primary source materials, including Everyday Life and Women in American 1800-1920, Women in the National Archives, Trade Catalogues and the American Home, and Sex and Sexuality.
Discovering American Women's History Online
Ken Middleton, a reference librarian at Middle Tennessee State University, has put together a database "that allows searchers to identify primary sources that various institutions have digitized. Its strength consists in serving as an access point to other databases. Coverage of topics is broad and includes...suffrage, feminism, and home economics...Historical periods covered range from the 17th to the 21st centuries, with the bulk of materials pertaining to the 1800s and later." (Choice Reviews, July, 2009)
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
"Feminae...indexes articles from over 500 journals and several essay collections. It covers a variety of academic disciplines that relate to women, gender, and sexuality...in medieval Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East." (Choice Reviews, Nov. 2007) Coverage is best for the period 1995-1996, but entries for 2001-present are also found here.
Multiple search points, including keyword, author, title, subject, time period and geographical region.
NOTE: This is an index only; no full text.
Jewish Women's Archive: a Historical Encyclopedia
The purpose of this resource is to provide access to the history of American Jewish Women. The home page has links to news, film, stories, and research, among other kinds of materials.
Librarian for Digital Literacy & General Education
Ask the Librarians a Question With Other Ways to Get Help