Skip to Main Content
In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Health and disease information for public health and medical professionals as well as consumers. The CDC website is particularly useful for finding information on disease outbreaks and projections of diseases that require tracking.
Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics
"Contagion: Historical Views of Diseases and Epidemics is a digital library collection that brings a unique set of resources from Harvard’s libraries to Internet users everywhere. Offering valuable insights to students of the history of medicine and to researchers seeking an historical context for current epidemiology, the collection contributes to the understanding of the global, social–history, and public–policy implications of disease. Contagion is also a unique social-history resource for students of many ages and disciplines."
"In 2002, Harvard University established the Open Collections Program, a digital collection of resources that makes available historical materials from Harvard's renowned libraries, archives, and museums. The newest collection, Contagion, provides background information on significant episodes of disease and epidemics worldwide. Materials include digitized copies of books, serials, pamphlets, and manuscripts, "many of which contain visual materials, such as plates, engravings, maps, charts, broadsides, and other illustrations." Materials are nicely supplemented by explanatory pages that familiarize users with concepts related to diseases and epidemics. The three search options are catalog, full text, and Web site. Catalog search allows users to keyword-search catalog records for books, manuscripts, maps, and images in the collection. Full-text search examines the machine-printed text of books, journals, and pamphlets and returns a list of relevancy-rated links to pages that contain the specific search term(s). Users also have the option of browsing pages on significant episodes of contagious disease, along with common topics such as public health or vaccination. Additionally, one may browse for material on notable persons such as William Gorgas or Florence Nightingale. This collection will be an invaluable resource for anyone searching for historical data on diseases and epidemics." from Choice, March 2009
Finding and Using Health Statistics
Health Statistics provide information for understanding, monitoring, improving and planning the use of resources to improve the lives of people, provide services and promote their well being. This course describes the range of available health statistics, identifies their sources and helps you understand how to use information about their structure as you search.
Other Drake University Resources
CINAHL This link opens in a new window
Index of nursing and allied health literature dating back to 1981.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
More than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources
Graduate Health Professions Librarian