Skip to Main Content
In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications This link opens in a new window
Coverage Dates:1976 - CurrentFree index to federal government publications distributed through the Superintendent of Documents.
Congressional Research Digital Collection (CRDC) This link opens in a new window
CRS Reports (Congressional Research Service) was established to provide members, committees and congressional staff with nonpartisan and objective research and analysis on all public policy issues. Research divisions include: American Law, Domestic Social Policy; Foreign Affairs, Defense and Trade; Government and Finance; Knowledge Services; and Resources, Science and Industry.
CQ Press Researcher Online This link opens in a new window
Looking for a "hot topic" on which to do a research paper? This database is a great place to start! It offers pros & cons, background information, and in-depth analysis on a variety of topics, issues, and controversies currently in the news.
U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to 500,000+ pages of previously classified government documents. Covers major international events including the Cold War, and the Vietnam War. Underpins studies in international relations and U S. foreign & domestic policy studies.
Historic Documents Collection This link opens in a new window
CQ has digitized the print "Historic Documents" series (1972-2003). This collection serves as a one-stop source for the most important and valuable commentary on primary source documents relating to each year's key events. Includes over 2,560 documents and 30,000 print pages.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Scholarly review articles on various topics in Political Science, Business, Philosophy and Religion.
ProQuest Congressional This link opens in a new window
Coverage Dates:1789 - currentPerform in-depth research in public policy, historical, and legal areas of interest. The basic subscription includes abstracts and indexing for congressional publications, and legislative histories. It also includes member biographies, committee assignments, voting records, and financial data; and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources.
Websites for Govt. Information
Biographical Directory of Congress
US Congress presents a Web version of this longstanding historical publication. Biographical information for each member has been updated through the 105th Congress but is otherwise identical to the latest official print edition (1989).
Thomas provides the full text of bills (103rd Congress and after), laws, Congressional Record (103rd and after), most committee reports, and many of the Library of Congress's excellent guides to legislation in print). The latter include "Major Legislation," "Bill Summary and Status," and "Floor Activities" for the current week. Texts of many historical documents are being added, and there are two lengthy guides to the legislative process.
FedSpending.org was created by OMB Watch (Office of Management and Budget) for the public to learn how the federal government is spending money. The website contains original material direct from government agencies and is reliable and valid.
This site is a resource for busy journalists, providing current news and analysis from sources in all 50 states. It tracks daily Top Stories and provides links to Additional Headlines and Recent Stories, gathered by a team of professional journalists who look at local publications each day and present the most important news emerging from state capitols. Especially helpful is the Issues Menu, which links to specific areas such as Elections, Education, Energy, Environment, and Health Care.
State Data Center of Iowa
"The State Data Center of Iowa is your source for population, housing, business and government statistics about Iowa, including data from the U.S. Census Bureau, Iowa state agencies, and other state and federal sources."
Find Articles on Political Issues
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
1865 - current
Academic Search Complete includes more than 8,992 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Communication Studies This link opens in a new window
Electronic access to the full text of 17 journals published by SAGE and participating societies. Index is based on Communication Abstracts Thesauri. Subjects include Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Intercultural Communication
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Coverage Dates:Varies (from Volume 1, number 1 for each title)Electronic archive of the complete journal runs (excluding the most recent 2-5 years) of over 500 journal titles in over 20 academic disciplines.
National Review Archive This link opens in a new window
Coverage Dates:1955 - presentThe National Review has been a leading journal of opinion since its inception in 1955.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Coverage Dates:Varies, as early as 1995 - CurrentFull-text of 200 scholarly journals published by Johns Hopkins University and other university presses.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science contains quality resources from the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Reference Books Online
Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
Search by topic to find both print and online Reference books.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
2nd edition of the 20-volume set. Includes meaning, history, & pronunciation of over 1/2 million words, both past and present.
Political Papers Archivist