Research Guides: Pharmacy & Health Science: Clinical Research

Books

Animal Experimentation by Susan C. Hunnicutt (Editor)
ISBN: 0737761431
Publication Date: 2013-04-09
Drugs: From Discovery to Approval by Rick Ng
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1118907272
Publication Date: 2015-06-29
Ethics in Medicine by Shabih H. Zaidi
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 3319010433
Publication Date: 2013-12-20
Fraud and Misconduct in Research by Nachman Ben-Yehuda; Amalya Oliver-Lumerman
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780472130559
Publication Date: 2017-10-05
Intelligent Drug Development: Trials and Errors in Clinical Research by Michael Tansey
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 0199974586
Publication Date: 2014-05-14
Making Meaning of Data in Pharmaceutical and Clinical Research by Susan J. Blallock
ISBN: 9781582123103
Publication Date: 2019-10-28
Modern Clinical Trial Analysis by Xin Tu (Editor); Wan Tang (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1461443210
Publication Date: 2012-09-05
Pediatric Drug Development by Andrew E. Mulberg; Julia Dunne; Lisa L. Mathis; Dianne Murphy
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 1118312155
Publication Date: 2013-08-19
Principles and Practice of Clinical Research by John I. Gallin (Editor); Frederick P. Ognibene (Editor); Laura Lee Johnson (Editor)
Call Number: eBook
ISBN: 9780128499047
Publication Date: 2017-11-17

Adverse Events Web Sites

Clinical Trials, General Information Web Sites

Center for Information and Study on Clinical Research Participation A non-profit organization founded in 2003 to assist professionals and the public to understand clinical research.
Clinical trials listing service for patients and industry professionals
Human Subject Research (NIH) Easy to read website, written for individuals or groups looking into human subjects research for the first time.
IFPMA Clinical Trials Portal Complete information database on current and completed clinical trials of member companies of the International Federation of Pharmaceutical Manufacturers & Associations.
National Library of Medicine Clinical Trial Research Guide (NLM/NIH)
NIH Clinical Center
Participating in NIH Research (NIH)
Running Clinical Trials, Bioresearch Monitoring, Office of Good Clinical Practice

Clinical Trials Regestries Web Sites

CanadaTrials CanadaTrials.com is a public source of information for patients, families and physicians, listing a searchable database of Clinical Research Trials that are actively enrolling patients in Canada. In addition CanadaTrials.com offers the latest Medical and health news with links to the most authoritative information sources updated hourly, and links to general health information and patient support groups.
Clinical trials listing service for patients and industry professionals
ClinicalTrials.gov
Search the Studies (NIH)
WHO International Clinical Trials Registry Platform Information on international clinical trials from the World Health Organization.

Clinical Trials: Subjects/Patients Web Sites

CanadaTrials CanadaTrials.com is a public source of information for patients, families and physicians, listing a searchable database of Clinical Research Trials that are actively enrolling patients in Canada. In addition CanadaTrials.com offers the latest Medical and health news with links to the most authoritative information sources updated hourly, and links to general health information and patient support groups.
Center for Information and Study on Clinical Research Participation A non-profit organization founded in 2003 to assist professionals and the public to understand clinical research.
Clinical trials listing service for patients and industry professionals
International Conference on Harmonisation of Technical Requirements for Registration of Pharmaceuticals for Human Use (ICH)
National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIH) Clinical Trials Networks
Office of Human Research Protections. United States Department of Health & Human Services
Office of Rare Diseases (NIH)
WHO International Clinical Trials Registry Platform Information on international clinical trials from the World Health Organization.

Continuing Education, Clinical Trials Professionals Web Sites

Drug Discovery & Approval Web Sites

Center for Drug Evaluation and Research (FDA)
Code of Federal Regulations
Drug Industry Document Archive The Drug Industry Document Archive (DIDA) contains over 2500 documents about pharmaceutical industry clinical trials, publication of study results, pricing, marketing, relations with physicians and involvement in continuing medical education. Most of these previously secret documents were made public as a result of lawsuits against the following pharmaceutical companies: Merck & Co., Parke-Davis, Warner-Lambert, Wyeth, and Pfizer.
Drugs@FDA (FDA Approved Drug Products)

Good Clinical Practice (GCP) Web Sites

Consolidated Standards of Reporting Trials (CONSORT) CONSORT, which stands for Consolidated Standards of Reporting Trials, encompasses various initiatives developed by the CONSORT Group to alleviate the problems arising from inadequate reporting of randomized controlled trials (RCTs). The main product of CONSORT is the CONSORT Statement, which is an evidence-based, minimum set of recommendations for reporting RCTs. It offers a standard way for authors to prepare reports of trial findings, facilitating their complete and transparent reporting, and aiding their critical appraisal and interpretation. The CONSORT Statement comprises a 25-item checklist and a flow diagram, along with some brief descriptive text. The checklist items focus on reporting how the trial was designed, analyzed, and interpreted; the flow diagram displays the progress of all participants through the trial.
International Conference on Harmonisation of Technical Requirements for Registration of Pharmaceuticals for Human Use (ICH)
Office of Good Clinical Practice (Running Clinical Trials, Metrics, Regulations) (FDA)

Grants & Financial Disclosure For Clinical Investigators Web Sites

HIPPA/Privacy Rule & Vulnerable Populations Web Sites

HIPPA information (NIH) The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) Privacy Rule is the first comprehensive Federal protection for the privacy of personal health information. Research organizations and researchers may or may not be covered by the HIPAA Privacy Rule.
Office of Human Research Protections. United States Department of Health & Human Services

Institutional Review Boards, Compliance, and Conflict of Interest Web Sites

Human Subject Research (NIH) Easy to read website, written for individuals or groups looking into human subjects research for the first time.
Information Sheet Guidance for Running an IRB (FDA)
Office of Human Research Protections. United States Department of Health & Human Services

Job Listings Web Sites

Association of Clinical Research Professionals "Whether you are looking for a new job, or ready to take the next step in your career, we'll help you find the opportunity that is right for you. ACRP's Career center is the best place to find jobs in the clinical research field. You can browse hundreds of jobs posted by top-quality employers while keeping your resume online for employer review. You can also create a job agent that will seek out jobs tailored to your interest, and alert you immediately when those jobs are posted in the Career Center." (from web site description)
CenterWatch's Job Listing and Career Resources Site
Jobs in the NIH Clinical Center
USAJobs.gov

Legislation & Regulation Web Sites

News, Current Web Sites

Research Training & Certification Web Sites

Association of Clinical Research Professionals (Certification)
Clinical Research Training (NIH)
Duke Clinical Research Institute As part of the Duke University School of Medicine, the Duke Clinical Research Institute is known for conducting groundbreaking multinational clinical trials, managing major national patient registries, and performing landmark outcomes research.
National Center for Advancing Translational Science
NIH ClinicalCenter
Research Resources from the ASHP

Other Resources

Biotechnology: In Context (via Gale eBooks)
The Clinician-Consumer Health Advisory Information Network (CHAIN) The Clinician-Consumer Health Advisory Information Network (CHAIN) is an online educational, informational, and resource dissemination program operated as a collaborative effort of the Centers for Education and Research on Therapeutics (CERTs) Educational Consortium.
Encyclopedia of Molecular Pharmacology (via Gale eBooks)
The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine (via Gale eBooks)
Institute for Clinical and Translational Science (ICTS) at the University of Iowa (UI).
New England Journal of Medicine Coverage Dates: 1993-present: Full-text; January 1975-1992: Abstracts
PLoS Medicine PLOS Medicine is a peer-reviewed open access medical journal.

Cowles Library

Pharmacy & Health Science: Clinical Research

Books

Adverse Events Web Sites

Clinical Trials, General Information Web Sites

Clinical Trials Regestries Web Sites

Clinical Trials: Subjects/Patients Web Sites

Continuing Education, Clinical Trials Professionals Web Sites

Drug Discovery & Approval Web Sites

Good Clinical Practice (GCP) Web Sites

Grants & Financial Disclosure For Clinical Investigators Web Sites

HIPPA/Privacy Rule & Vulnerable Populations Web Sites

Institutional Review Boards, Compliance, and Conflict of Interest Web Sites

Job Listings Web Sites

Legislation & Regulation Web Sites

News, Current Web Sites

Research Training & Certification Web Sites

Other Resources