This page contains links to important databases, resources, and search tools for Pharmacy students in regards to drug information searching. If you are interested in searching for clinical guidelines, please select this Clinical Guidelines link.
Important DI Resources
Hover over "info" icon for more information.
AccessPharmacyThis link opens in a new windowA curricular resource - select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references.
ASHP eBooks CollectionThis link opens in a new windowASHP eBooks Library is a source for pharmacy-specific clinical and management information.
Cochrane LibraryThis link opens in a new windowCollection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making.
DynaMedThis link opens in a new windowA clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other healthcare professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care' with clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,200 topics.
LexicompThis link opens in a new windowReviews the FDA, pharmaceutical industry, and clinical literature, researching the latest findings on drugs, indications, warnings, and interactions.
Available only to Pharmacy students and faculty. By logging in you agree that the use of this resource is limited to classroom work. Information obtained during this session will not be used for patient care or other activities outside of classroom assignments.
Natural MedicinesThis link opens in a new windowCombined database containing both Natural Standard and Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. The premiere evidence based complimentary and alternative medicine database. Effectiveness of treatments for various disease states is ranked based on analysis of the primary literature.
PharmacyLibraryThis link opens in a new windowPharmacyLibrary from American Pharmacists Association (APhA) features content from APhA's authoritative textbooks, an interactive NAPLEX review, case studies, and active learning exercises that focus on a variety of practice skills.
MEDLINE (PubMed)This link opens in a new windowNational Library of Medicine's free version of Medline
MEDLINE (ProQuest)This link opens in a new windowIndexes over 4,600 journals in the medical and health sciences. Links to full-text where available.
TravaxThis link opens in a new windowTravel medicine database that is peer reviewed and continuously updated. Contains travel medicine literature and teaching sheets including a collection of country-specific profiles for about 240 countries and territories and a "Travax Report Builder", to produce a custom counseling reports for travelers.**Requires username and password (contact Drake Library Reference).
Other Useful Resources
AMA Manual of StyleThis link opens in a new windowContains grammar and citation, abbreviation, and nomenclature for the 10th Edition of the AMA Style format.
CINAHLThis link opens in a new windowIndex of nursing and allied health literature dating back to 1981.
Credo ReferenceThis link opens in a new windowPortal to over 500 highly regarded reference sources. Examples of sources covered include: Art, Business, Food & Beverage, History, Language, Law, Literature, Medicine, Music, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Science, Social Sciences, and Technology.
A book of public pharmacopeial standards. **Note: requires account creation (use your Drake email address) at https://usp.az1.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_bEM8pqWOF2tiF7v. Select nonprofit as institution type.
This subscription is provided free of charge by the United States Pharmacopeia for CPHS faculty, staff, and students. Access also includes the USP Dictionary, USP Dietary Supplement Compendium (DSC), and Food Chemical Codex (FCC)
Web of ScienceThis link opens in a new windowComprehensive source for science and interdiscipinary articles. This database is one of the largest indices of important research data, books, journals, proceedings, publications, and patents from multiple and cross disciplinary areas. An umbrella database that encompasses the following databases: Current Contents Connect, Biosis Citation Index (biological life sciences journals), Derwent Innovations Index (patent information), Web of Science, Zoological Record (animal science journals), MEDLINE, Journal Citation Reports (impact factor and other measures), Data Citation Index (large data sets), Book Citation Index (book index), Index Chemicus (chemistry journals), Current Chemical Reactions (chemical reactions information), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index (conference proceeding papers). The Web of Knowledge contains quality resources from the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Book CatalogCowles library's online catalog of books and ebooks.
DSM-5This link opens in a new windowPublished by the American Psychiatric Association, it provides a common language and standard criteria for the classification of mental disorders. It is used by mental health professionals worldwide.
E-ValueAccess to the e-value portfolio system for students, faculty and preceptors.
JournalsDirect access to Cowles Library's journal collection. Search by title or browse by subject. Electronic journals are available through this link.
PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowAmerican Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Visible Body3D interactive anatomy, physiology, and pathology visualizations and animations. Note: Requires registration with your Drake email address
PHAR 190, 191, & 192 - Therapeutics Course Series eBook - Pharmacotherapy: Principles and Practice - 5th and 6th editions