In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...
America: History and Life with Full TextThis link opens in a new windowIndexing and abstracts of 2,400 scholarly journals on U.S. and Canadian History. Links to some full text where available.
Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639 - 1800 (Readex)This link opens in a new windowA definitive primary resource for researching every aspect of 17th- and 18th-century America. It includes virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in America over a 160-year period.
Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineThis link opens in a new windowIncludes every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in Great Britain during the eighteenth century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas.
JSTORThis link opens in a new windowOnline archive of over 500 journal titles covering more than 20 academic disciplines. Includes a collection of over 20,000 British pamphlets published in the 19th Century.
Nineteenth Century Collections OnlineThis link opens in a new windowThese archives explore the ‘long’ nineteenth century’s diplomatic interactions, evolving education system, religious reform and social revolutions, and more, all while capturing the human experience through the unique intersections of gender, race, and socio-economic status.
Project MuseThis link opens in a new windowFull-text of 200 scholarly journals published by Johns Hopkins University and other university presses.
Sabin Americana 1500 - 1926This link opens in a new windowA collection of globally published books, pamphlets, and other documents pertaining to the New World from 1500 to the early 1900s.
CREDO Reference contains a variety of reference sources in subjects ranging from Art to History to Law to Technology and almost everything in between. It is a portal to a multitude of highly regarded reference sources, drawing on 244 titles by 55 publishers and providing access to tens of thousands of images and audio clips. At a loss for a paper topic? Search the Concept Map for ideas
Access over 100 standard Gale Reference works online! Includes reference materials in the subject areas of: Arts, Business, Education, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation & World, Religion, and Social Science.
Fulltext handbooks from Oxford Handbooks series includes in-depth, high-level articles by scholars at the top of their field.
Each handbook takes an aspect of its discipline and explains the key issues, the classic and contemporary debates on those issues, and sets an agenda for how those debates might evolve.
Search the digitized versions of almost 2,000,000 books in the public domain (pre-1923).
SuperSearch
Find Journals
This form allows you to browse the tables of contents of scholarly journals and choose full text articles. To search for articles across multiple journal titles, use SuperSearch.
Nineteenth Century Collections OnlineThis link opens in a new windowThese archives explore the ‘long’ nineteenth century’s diplomatic interactions, evolving education system, religious reform and social revolutions, and more, all while capturing the human experience through the unique intersections of gender, race, and socio-economic status.
Oxford English DictionaryThis link opens in a new window2nd edition of the 20-volume set. Includes meaning, history, & pronunciation of over 1/2 million words, both past and present.
Oxford History of Western MusicThis link opens in a new windowThe full text from the Oxford History of Western Music (2009) with notes, bibliographies, and further readings.
