Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...

Cowles Library

 

Unmet Learning Resource Needs: Wishlist: English/Theatre

Wishlist of unmet learning resource needs by discipline

Theatre and Drame Premium (ProQuest)

More information here

Theatre and Drama Premium has everything libraries need to study the dramatic arts—from recent productions by Broadway theatre companies to interviews with Arthur Miller and James Earl Jones to previously unpublished plays from Ed Bullins and Jeannie Barroga.

The package covers all areas of study, from the stage to behind-the-scenes, and provides the tools and content faculty and students need to discover, teach, and interpret all aspects of performance. 

With Theatre and Drama Premium, your institution will have access to: 
  • 13,500 full-text plays, many published for the first time, from canonical and emerging playwrights
  • 150,000 pages of original and contextualizing materials including designs, reference material, and ephemera
  • 300 audio plays from L.A. Theatre Works
  • 750 hours of filmed stage performances, documentaries, and video training materials

Students and scholars can conduct in-depth analyses on key writers, creators, and performers, and create a new understanding of established pieces of the dramatic canon. For example:

  • Using the Bell’s 1623 Edition of the text for comparison, students can examine multiple video productions of King Lear, focusing on King Lear’s speech in Act 3, Scene 2, and begin to understand how acting and directing choices can affect an overall performance.
  • Faculty can widen the lens of theatrical study to include a diverse cast of pioneers such as designs from Shirley Prendergast, the first black female lighting designer on Broadway in 1973, or plays by R. Lynn Riggs, the first American Indian playwright to have his works produced.
  • All patrons can relish award-winning Broadway shows from BroadwayHD™ such as She Loves Me (2016) and Falsettos (2017), without leaving campus.
  • In exploring Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream, students can read the original First Folio version, compare it to modernizing translations (Augustin Daly) and adaptations (Frances Elizabeth Clarke) for textual variations, or become immersed in filmed stage versions by acclaimed directors Julie Taymor and Beverly Bullock.

Theatre and Drama Premium bridges the gap between Literature and Theatre departments, serving students and faculty in many disciplines, such as theatre, literature, performance studies, theatrical design, dramatic writing, and more. The collection includes the entire contents of the following individual Theatre and Drama products:

COST: $58,500 one-time fee, $1,200 annual access fee

Impact on Students: This resource would positively impact the Theatre and English departments. It would be beneficial to have access to thousands of digitized plays as well as films, and stage productions. The sub-collection "Black Drama" would help support Drake's commitment to diverse resources. 

JSTOR Lives of Literature

More information here

JSTOR's newest collection of academic journals devoted to the deep study of writers and texts associated with core literary movements.

Key thematic topics will include:
  • Medieval Authors & Texts
  • Modernist Authors
  • Victorian, Edwardian & Gothic Authors
  • Literary Theorists

This resource supports advanced literary studies and interdisciplinary research on writers and texts critical to curricula in literature. And with its focus on journals that use an author or text as a starting place, Lives of Literature also fulfills a scholarly resource need for in-depth study and courses on a single author—a curricular component at many institutions.

COST: One Time Payment option - $36,036.58

Impact on Students: JSTOR Lives of Literature offers students in literary and interdisciplinary studies the ability to deeply explore writers and texts associated with core literary movements. Students in upper level courses and capstones doing in-depth research on a specific author or text will benefit most, as this collection focuses on scholarly journals that use an author or text as a starting place.

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archives: Part I and Part II (ProQuest)

More information here

This digital archive is sure to receive rave reviews from those wanting to know more about behind-the-scenes activities of the music, film, and entertainment industries. By providing the complete runs of major trade and consumer magazines, from their inception to 2000, it arms students and researchers with the primary source material needed to develop a contextual understanding of the entertainment industry as it evolved over the 20th century.

Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive is available in two separate collections, each of which can be purchased separately:

  • Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive 1: Music, Radio and The Stage contains 14 titles and approximately 1.1M pages of content from such publications as Billboard (1894-2000), Spin (1985-2000) and The Stage (1880-2000)
  • Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive 2: Film and Television includes 10 titles and around 1.1M pages of material from key publications like Variety (1905-2000), Boxoffice (1920-2000) and Broadcast (1960-2000)

 

COST: $14,525 one-time for each part, and $412 yearly hosting fee for each part

Impact on Students: These collections would be useful for any students studying music, drama, and entertainment from both a producing and economics standpoint.  Music business classes in particular would find value in these.

The collections are ideal for scholars studying:

  • The economics of the entertainment industry
  • Production, marketing and reception of films or music albums
  • Factors surrounding the emergence of subcultures such as punk, two-tone or grunge
  • Culture, politics and social change in dynamic eras such as the 1960s