In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...
USC Shoah Foundations Visual History Archive (info here)
The USC Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive is a fully streaming video collection of more than 55,000 primary source testimonies of survivors and witnesses of the Holocaust and other crimes against humanity. The largest archive of its kind, history is preserved as told by the people who lived it, with each testimony offering unique insight and knowledge rarely available in traditional content. The vast majority of the testimonies contain a complete personal history of life before, during, and after the interviewee’s firsthand experience with genocide.
The Visual History Archive offers multiple pathways to learn from the eyewitnesses of history across time, locations, cultures and sociopolitical circumstances. The streaming archive is digitized, fully searchable, and cross-referenced to ProQuest content owned by the institution. Students, professors, researchers, and others can retrieve whole testimonies and segments within testimonies, with searching to the minute based manual transcription, 65,000 keyword index terms, 1.9 million names, and 719,000 images.
COST: $58,638 one-time, and $708 yearly hosting fee
Impact on Students: This is a unique resource that would be used in multiple disciplines. The collections provide multiple pathways to learn from eyewitnesses of history across time, locations, cultures, and sociopolitical circumstances. It includes more than 53,000 eyewitness testimonies of survivors of genocide. It could be used in history classes, political science, sociology, psychology, and English to name a few.
COST: (4/11/18 meeting)
Impact on Students: This resource would be beneficial in a number of areas taught at Drake: for political historians the Territorial Papers include all of the official correspondence between territorial officials and the federal government, providing insights into how actions in the territories related to political forces in the capital. For scholars of Native American history they contain not only tribal treaties but the correspondence related to their negotiation and signing. For military historians they provide detailed records related to official orders, troop movements, and battle accounts. For economic historians they contain detailed reports on agricultural, mining, and industrial production, land ownership, and shipping. In addition, researchers looking for firsthand accounts of life on the American frontier will find a wealth of information in letters, petitions, judicial records, and population data.
Subject Areas: History; Political Science; Native American Studies; Military History
COST: (4/11/18 meeting)
Impact on Students: Some of the biggest issues in the news today involve border security, migration, and the treatment of refugees. This resource tells the tales of refugees and immigrants from the mid to late 20th century. It includes news, analysis and government reports on the movement of people across the word. A great resource for giving a historical context to recent events.
Useful in a wide variety of academic disciplines, here is a list of some of the courses this resource would support:
ECON 115 - Labor Economics; EDUC 162 – Urban Ed Immigrations; HONR 086 – Borders and Borderlands; SCSA 081 – Borders and Boundaries
American Race Relations: Global Perspectives, 1946-1996
COST: (4/11/18 meeting)
Impact on Students: This is the only available digital archive covering foreign perspectives of American racial issues in the mid-20th century. It would be helpful to any students studying these multi-disciplinary issues.
Potential Courses: PSY-135 Psychology of Prejudice, SCSR114- Rhetorics of Race, SCSR-126 Rhetoric of Identity & Difference, EDUC164-Perspectives in Race, Ethnicity & Gender, etc.
To understand the United States in the first two decades of the 19th century, students and scholars have depended for generations on Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker. Now this renowned digital collection has been supplemented for an anticipated final time from the remarkable holdings of the American Antiquarian Society. More than 1,700 rare and diverse works—all newly catalogued and digitized from the originals—cover a wide range of disciplines and address a host of increasingly studied topics. Never before have researchers had the opportunity to study this pivotal period in such a comprehensive way—both in the classroom and beyond.
COST: $10,011 one-time and $243 yearly hosting fee
Requesting Faculty Member: Requested by Lisa West (English) 2/8/18
Impact on Students: Cowles Library owns Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639 - 1800
More information can be found here.
As the official journal of the nonprofit National Geographic Society, National Geographic magazine built its reputation delivering the highest-quality photojournalism and cartography in the world.
This monthly publication provides unparalleled, in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology, and more – making it an essential resource for educators and students as well as general readers. Thanks to advanced digital technology, your library can now offer unlimited access to the magazine to the mid-1990s – every article from every issue, each fully searchable through an intuitive interface.
Deliver an unparalleled National Geographic experience by subscribing to all parts of the National Geographic Virtual Library – search the vivid photographs and historic articles as well as engaging videos and detailed maps.
COST: $14,140 (as of 2016) - if multiple Gale archives are purchased, price drops
IMPACT ON STUDENTS: Cowles has older sporadic print holdings of this title, some of which are in the locker due to condition. We have a large print run from 1959 forward. The ability to search and access this content digitally would be a huge benefit to researchers in a variety of subject areas.
Supplement #1 which released in 2016 and Supplement #2 which released as of November 20, 2017, are available for purchase now. In total, the two supplements offer you approximately 100,000 pages of additional declassified materials with declassified dates ranging from 1911 to 2016.
By adding this supplement to our existing U.S. Declassified Documents Online archive we would increase coverage of topics in subject areas like:
Domestic & International Security
COST: $2,000 (one-time) per supplement
Impact on Students: Cowles Library owns the Declassified Documents Reference Center. These supplements would greatly enhance and expand the scope of that resource. Declassified Documents Reference Center provides primary source materials to students researching across all disciplines, but especially our growing programs in Law, Politics, and Society, Politics, and International Relations.