Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...

Cowles Library

 

Unmet Learning Resource Needs: Wishlist: Journalism

Wishlist of unmet learning resource needs by discipline

ProQuest Historical Newspapers - North Central Collection (**includes Des Moines Register archive**)

More information can be found here.

This archive would give us digital access to the Des Moines Register archive online, as well as other titles.

Titles include:

  • Argus Leader (Sioux Falls, SD)—1886-2009
  • The Des Moines Register (Des Moines, IA)—1871-2008
  • Fort Collins Coloradoan (Fort Collins, CO)—1972-2012
  • Great Falls Tribune (Great Falls, MT)—1885-2011
  • Iowa City Press Citizen (Iowa City, IA)—1965-2008
  • Springfield News-Leader (Springfield, MO)—1987-2011
  • St. Cloud Times (St. Cloud, MN)—1928-2011

COST:  $21,500 one-time (can be bundled with other purchases to bring price down)

IMPACT ON STUDENTS: We currently only offer online access to the DM Register from 2002-present.  The older years are only available via physical microfilm, which is inconvenient to use.  This archive would drastically improve how faculty, students, and researchers would be able to access historical content.

Popular Magazine Archives (various titles) (EBSCO)

The library already owns TIME, FORTUNE, and LIFE Magazine Archives. These would add depth and breadth to the popular magazine archives offerings. For more information: https://www.ebscohost.com/archives#

**Atlantic Magazine Archive (1857-2014) ($13,435 list price) $7,389.25

Architectural Digest Magazine Archive (1922-2011) ($8,910 list price) $4,900.50

**Bloomberg Businessweek Magazine Archive (1929-2000) ($13,435 list price) $7,389.25

Esquire Magazine Archive (1933-2014) ($8,910 list price) $4,900.50

**Fortune Magazine Archive (1930-2000) ($8,910 list price) $4,900.50

**MacLean's Magazine Archive (1995-2015) ($13,435 list price) $7,389.25

People Magazine Archive (1974-2000) ($8,910 list price) $4,900.50

**Sports Illustrated Magazine Archive (1954-2000) ($8,910 list price) $4,900.50

**U.S. News & World Report Magazine Archive (1926-1984) ($13,435 list price) $7,389.25

Vanity Fair Magazine Archive (1913-1936 and 1982-2015) ($8,910 list price) $4,900.50

                                          TOTAL FOR ALL UNOWNED = $58,960

COST: Price quote good thru: 5/2/19.(45% discount off list)

yearly hosting fee = 2% of the purchase price

IMPACT ON STUDENTS: We currently have access to these resources in print.  Our print collection is in poor physical shape and is missing pages. Access to these resources online would allow for keyword searching and remote access. These are core titles in multiple subject areas.

 

**Committed to maintain print holdings thru 12/31/2040

Women's Magazine Archive 2 (ProQuest)

Women's Magazine Archive 2 (info here)

Collection 2 titles:

  • Cosmopolitan (1886 to 2005)
  • Essence (1970 to 2005)
  • Seventeen (1944 to 2005)
  • Town and Country (1846 to 2005)
  • Woman’s Day (1937 to 2005)
  • Women’s International Network News (1975 to 2003)

Cost:16,492 one-time, and $301 yearly hosting fee

Impact on Students: Cowles Library purchased the first half of this archive, and usage statistics indicate it has been well-used. Purchasing the second half would complete our digital collection. This historical collection of popular women’s magazine is useful to a variety of majors and concentrations, including Magazine Media, Advertising, Women’s and Gender Studies, English, History, and Rhetoric, Media, and Social Change.

 

African American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2 (Readex)

African-American Newspapers, Series 1 and 2

  • More information here
  • The world’s most comprehensive collection of its kind
  • More than 350 newspapers provide a one-of-a-kind record of African American history, culture and daily life
  • Covers life in the Antebellum South, growth of the Black church, the Jim Crow Era, the Great Migration, Harlem Renaissance, Civil Rights movement, political and economic empowerment and more

COST: (4/11/18 meeting)

Impact on Students: This is the most comprehensive collection of African American newspapers available. It would be useful to any students doing primary research in a number of areas. Cowles Library is seeking to provide access to a greater depth of diverse resources. 

Potential Courses: HIST060-Africa in World History; HIST067-Sustainable Development in Africa, HIST161-Africa, Africans & Atlantic Slavery, HONR175-South African Literature & Culture, etc. 

Early American Newspapers - Iowa only collection (Readex)

COST: (4/11/18 meeting)

Requesting faculty member:

Impact on Students: