Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...

Cowles Library

 

Unmet Learning Resource Needs: Wishlist: Interdisciplinary

Wishlist of unmet learning resource needs by discipline

ProQuest Historical Newspapers - North Central Collection (**includes Des Moines Register archive**)

More information can be found here.

This archive would give us digital access to the Des Moines Register archive online, as well as other titles.

Titles include:

  • Argus Leader (Sioux Falls, SD)—1886-2009
  • The Des Moines Register (Des Moines, IA)—1871-2008
  • Fort Collins Coloradoan (Fort Collins, CO)—1972-2012
  • Great Falls Tribune (Great Falls, MT)—1885-2011
  • Iowa City Press Citizen (Iowa City, IA)—1965-2008
  • Springfield News-Leader (Springfield, MO)—1987-2011
  • St. Cloud Times (St. Cloud, MN)—1928-2011

COST:  $21,500 one-time (can be bundled with other purchases to bring price down)

IMPACT ON STUDENTS: We currently only offer online access to the DM Register from 2002-present.  The older years are only available via physical microfilm, which is inconvenient to use.  This archive would drastically improve how faculty, students, and researchers would be able to access historical content.

Popular Magazine Archives (various titles) (EBSCO)

The library already owns TIME, FORTUNE, and LIFE Magazine Archives. These would add depth and breadth to the popular magazine archives offerings. For more information: https://www.ebscohost.com/archives#

**Atlantic Magazine Archive (1857-2014) ($13,435 list price) $7,389.25

Architectural Digest Magazine Archive (1922-2011) ($8,910 list price) $4,900.50

**Bloomberg Businessweek Magazine Archive (1929-2000) ($13,435 list price) $7,389.25

Esquire Magazine Archive (1933-2014) ($8,910 list price) $4,900.50

**Fortune Magazine Archive (1930-2000) ($8,910 list price) $4,900.50

**MacLean's Magazine Archive (1995-2015) ($13,435 list price) $7,389.25

People Magazine Archive (1974-2000) ($8,910 list price) $4,900.50

**Sports Illustrated Magazine Archive (1954-2000) ($8,910 list price) $4,900.50

**U.S. News & World Report Magazine Archive (1926-1984) ($13,435 list price) $7,389.25

Vanity Fair Magazine Archive (1913-1936 and 1982-2015) ($8,910 list price) $4,900.50

                                          TOTAL FOR ALL UNOWNED = $58,960

COST: Price quote good thru: 5/2/19.(45% discount off list)

yearly hosting fee = 2% of the purchase price

IMPACT ON STUDENTS: We currently have access to these resources in print.  Our print collection is in poor physical shape and is missing pages. Access to these resources online would allow for keyword searching and remote access. These are core titles in multiple subject areas.

 

**Committed to maintain print holdings thru 12/31/2040

Human Rights Studies Online (ProQuest)

More information can be found here.

Human Rights Studies Online is a research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event, including Armenia, the Holocaust, Cambodia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Rwanda, Darfur, and more than thirty additional subjects.

COST: $14,400 one-time, and ___ yearly hosting fee

REQUESTING FACULTY MEMBER:

IMPACT ON STUDENTS:

Environmental Issues Online (ProQuest)

More information can be found here.

Environmental Studies is an inherently multidisciplinary field, where solutions to real-world issues lie at the intersections of the social sciences, the biological and earth sciences, the humanities, legal studies, and policy. This database uses text, archival primary sources, and video to address major past and ongoing environmental issues—water challenges, air pollution, biodiversity, climate change, energy issues, consumption and waste issues, and land issues—in comparative, historical, global, and interdisciplinary ways.

COST: $15,651 one-time fee, ____annual access fee

Impact on Students: Drake’s Environmental Science & Sustainability (ENSS) major just recently changed their name to focus more on the concept of sustainability and how it relates to environmental science topics, issues, and problems. Sustainability requires a lot of interdisciplinary research, which is exactly what Environmental Issues Online provides to student and faculty researchers. It shows how different forms of pollution, biodiversity, climate change, energy issues, and many other relevant and overlapping topics connect to one another. Having access to this would help students and faculty to focus not only on environmental issues but also on sustainability.  

Subject Areas: Environmental health, Environmental engineering, Public Policy & Public Administration, and related areas.

Women's Magazine Archive (ProQuest)

Women's Magazine Archive 2 (info here)

Collection 2 titles:

  • Cosmopolitan (1886 to 2005)
  • Essence (1970 to 2005)
  • Seventeen (1944 to 2005)
  • Town and Country (1846 to 2005)
  • Woman’s Day (1937 to 2005)
  • Women’s International Network News (1975 to 2003)

COST: $16,492 one-time, and $301 yearly hosting fee

IMPACT ON STUDENTS: Cowles Library purchased the first half of this archive, and usage statistics indicate it has been well-used. Purchasing the second half would complete our digital collection. This historical collection of popular women’s magazine is useful to a variety of majors and concentrations, including Magazine Media, Advertising, Women’s and Gender Studies, English, History, and Rhetoric, Media, and Social Change.

LGBT Magazine Archive (ProQuest)

LGBT Magazine archive (info here) 

Launching in September 2018, LGBT Magazine Archive will comprise archival runs of 26 of the most influential, long-running 20th/21st-century magazines in this field, amounting to approximately 400,000 pages of content.

The LGBT Magazine Archive will offer the backfiles of many of the leading, established, long-running periodicals of this type. Coverage is from the first issue of each publication, with the earliest content dating from 1957 and the default termination point for each title is 2015 (or the journal ceased date). Each issue is scanned from cover to cover in full color.*

Cost: $16,492 one-time, and $412 yearly hosting fee

IMPACT ON STUDENTS: This archive brings together the most influential LGBT magazines from the U.S. and the U.K. This collection would allow students and faculty to research LGBT history and culture from 1967 to the present.

Subject Areas: Magazine Media; Advertising; Law, Politics & Society; Sociology; History; Women’s and Gender Studies; and Rhetoric, Media, and Social Change

Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 (ProQuest)

More information can be found here.

This database/journal brings together innovative scholarship, primary documents, books, images, essays, book and Web site reviews, teaching tools, and more. It combines the analytic power of a database with the new scholarly insights of a peer-reviewed journal. Published twice a year since 2004, the database/journal is edited by Kathryn Kish Sklar and Thomas Dublin of the State University of New York at Binghamton, with an editorial board of leading scholars from around the country.

It is organized around document projects, works of scholarship that link an interpretive essay to 30 or more related primary documents, leading users step by step from discovery to contextual understanding. Four new document projects are added every year. Recent examples include:

  • “Free Angela Davis, And All Political Prisoners!’ A Transnational Campaign for Liberation”
  • “How Did Female Protestant Missionaries Respond to the Japanese American Incarceration Experience during World War II?”
  • “How and Why Did Women in SNCC (the Student Non-Violent Coordinating Committee) Author a Pathbreaking Feminist Manifesto, 1964–1965?”

Each semiannual issue adds 2,500 pages of primary source collections. These carefully curated and deeply indexed resources include:

  • The History of Woman Suffrage (six volumes, 1881–1922).
  • Proceedings of the national conventions of women’s anti-slavery societies in the 1830s.
  • Women’s Rights Conventions (1848–1969).
  • Annual conventions of the Woman’s Christian Temperance Union (1874–1898).
  • Publications of the League of Women Voters (1920–2000).
  • More than 50 state reports addressing gender bias in the courts.

We are midway in posting a collection of the writings of 80 black women suffragists, totaling 1,500 items and more than 15,000 pages, with links to online documents that provide access to 1,000 additional writings of these activists.

These primary source collections include rare and previously inaccessible materials. They are enhanced by scholarly essays from leading historians that illuminate key historical issues in those texts and provide entry points for accessing the collections.

Altogether, the database/journal includes 160,000 pages of documents written by more than 2,450 primary authors. Each issue adds new material, offering the latest historical scholarship and related primary materials.

A dictionary of social movements and a chronology of U.S. women’s history complement the primary sources and facilitate searching within the database.

By arrangement with Harvard University Press, Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600 to 2000 includes all five volumes of Notable American Women: A Biographical Dictionary (1971–2004). Also included are previously inaccessible publications of local and state commissions on the status of women since 1963. State by state and year by year, these astonishing publications illustrate and track the full range of issues affecting the lives of American women since 1960. Commission reports are especially rich in statistical data and patrons can create their own charts using a customizable graph tool.

Cost:$15,651 one-time, and ___yearly hosting fee

Impact on Students: This database is both a database, published twice a year, and includes original scholarship as well as the appropriate accompanying materials, including primary sources, books, images, and essays. The ability for students to access primary and secondary materials in one place makes their research more efficient. This database is useful to a variety of majors and concentrations, including History, English, Women’s and Gender Studies, and Rhetoric, Media, and Social Change.

National Geographic Archive: 1888-1994 (Gale)

More information can be found here.

As the official journal of the nonprofit National Geographic Society, National Geographic magazine built its reputation delivering the highest-quality photojournalism and cartography in the world.
This monthly publication provides unparalleled, in-depth coverage of cultures, nature, science, technology, and more – making it an essential resource for educators and students as well as general readers. Thanks to advanced digital technology, your library can now offer unlimited access to the magazine to the mid-1990s – every article from every issue, each fully searchable through an intuitive interface.
Deliver an unparalleled National Geographic experience by subscribing to all parts of the National Geographic Virtual Library – search the vivid photographs and historic articles as well as engaging videos and detailed maps.

 

COST: $14,140 (as of 2016) - if multiple Gale archives are purchased, price drops

IMPACT ON STUDENTS: Cowles has older sporadic print holdings of this title, some of which are in the locker due to condition. We have a large print run from 1959 forward. The ability to search and access this content digitally would be a huge benefit to researchers in a variety of subject areas.