Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...

Cowles Library

 

Unmet Learning Resource Needs: Wishlist: LGBTQ Studies

Wishlist of unmet learning resource needs by discipline

LGBT Magazine Archive (ProQuest)

LGBT Magazine archive (info here)

Launching in September 2018, LGBT Magazine Archive will comprise archival runs of 26 of the most influential, long-running 20th/21st-century magazines in this field, amounting to approximately 400,000 pages of content.

The LGBT Magazine Archive will offer the backfiles of many of the leading, established, long-running periodicals of this type. Coverage is from the first issue of each publication, with the earliest content dating from 1957 and the default termination point for each title is 2015 (or the journal ceased date). Each issue is scanned from cover to cover in full color.*

Cost: $16,492 one-time, and $412 yearly hosting fee

Impact on Students: This archive brings together the most influential LGBT magazines from the U.S. and the U.K. This collection would allow students and faculty to research LGBT history and culture from 1967 to the present. This collection would be useful to students in a variety of areas including Magazine Media, Advertising, Law, Politics & Society, Sociology, History, Women’s and Gender Studies, and Rhetoric, Media, and Social Change.