In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...
Women's Magazine Archive 2 (info here)
Collection 2 titles:
Cost:16,492 one-time, and $301 yearly hosting fee
Impact on Students: Cowles Library purchased the first half of this archive, and usage statistics indicate it has been well-used. Purchasing the second half would complete our digital collection. This historical collection of popular women’s magazine is useful to a variety of majors and concentrations, including Magazine Media, Advertising, Women’s and Gender Studies, English, History, and Rhetoric, Media, and Social Change.
More information can be found here.
This database/journal brings together innovative scholarship, primary documents, books, images, essays, book and Web site reviews, teaching tools, and more. It combines the analytic power of a database with the new scholarly insights of a peer-reviewed journal. Published twice a year since 2004, the database/journal is edited by Kathryn Kish Sklar and Thomas Dublin of the State University of New York at Binghamton, with an editorial board of leading scholars from around the country.
It is organized around document projects, works of scholarship that link an interpretive essay to 30 or more related primary documents, leading users step by step from discovery to contextual understanding. Four new document projects are added every year. Recent examples include:
Each semiannual issue adds 2,500 pages of primary source collections. These carefully curated and deeply indexed resources include:
We are midway in posting a collection of the writings of 80 black women suffragists, totaling 1,500 items and more than 15,000 pages, with links to online documents that provide access to 1,000 additional writings of these activists.
These primary source collections include rare and previously inaccessible materials. They are enhanced by scholarly essays from leading historians that illuminate key historical issues in those texts and provide entry points for accessing the collections.
Altogether, the database/journal includes 160,000 pages of documents written by more than 2,450 primary authors. Each issue adds new material, offering the latest historical scholarship and related primary materials.
A dictionary of social movements and a chronology of U.S. women’s history complement the primary sources and facilitate searching within the database.
By arrangement with Harvard University Press, Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600 to 2000 includes all five volumes of Notable American Women: A Biographical Dictionary (1971–2004). Also included are previously inaccessible publications of local and state commissions on the status of women since 1963. State by state and year by year, these astonishing publications illustrate and track the full range of issues affecting the lives of American women since 1960. Commission reports are especially rich in statistical data and patrons can create their own charts using a customizable graph tool.
Cost:$15,651 one-time, and ___yearly hosting fee
Impact on Students: This database is both a database, published twice a year, and includes original scholarship as well as the appropriate accompanying materials, including primary sources, books, images, and essays. The ability for students to access primary and secondary materials in one place makes their research more efficient. This database is useful to a variety of majors and concentrations, including History, English, Women’s and Gender Studies, and Rhetoric, Media, and Social Change.