Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...

Cowles Library

 

Web of Science: Search All Databases

World's leading citation database covering the sciences, arts, humanities and social sciences.

Why search All Databases on the Web of Science platform?

 

 

A topic search at the All Databases level helps you discover content in formats and document types across all content sets. You may already be familiar with searching Medline for journal content, but imagine expanding that search to include conference papers, patent data, datasets and data studies, books, etc.

Also, in cases where there is overlap between databases on the Web of Science platform--let's say the same article is indexed in Web of Science Core Collection, Medline, and BIOSIS Citation Index--a search at the All Databases level provides additional value by letting you quickly access the article's metadata from each of those databases on the platform. See the next section Super Record for more details.

Search All DB

Web of Science

Search Web of Science (All Databases)™
   

Copyright 2018 Clarivate Analytics   

All Databases Search

Watch the video on searching all databases on the Web of Science platform.

Search Tips

Search the Web of Science like a master.

Citation Sources

The All Times Cited Count comes from these six sources.

Training options

Technical Support

Super Record

In cases of database overlap, where the same article appears in multiple databases on the Web of Science platform, a search at the All Databases level gives you the "Super Record" for that article. You can think of a Super Record as pulling all the metadata unique to each database on the platform into a unified view. The Super Record provides these benefits:

1. It lets you know there is additional metadata available for an article (based on your institution's entitlements).

2. It lets you view that metadata without having to search each specific database on the platform.

Here's an example.

Below, we see a record from a search at the All Databases level. Since my institution's entitlement includes Web of Science Core Collection, I am presented with the article as it's indexed in that database, and I am able to see metadata for this paper that is unique to the Core Collection:

  • I see all the authors listed on the paper and the authors' affiliations.
  • I am able to see funding data, if available.

Since my institution's entitlement also includes Medline, I can see in the the right sidebar if this paper is also indexed in Medline, and that is, indeed, the case.

Clicking on "View medical data (in MEDLINE)" lets me switch to the Medline record for this article and I can now see this paper's MeSH Terms.