Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...

Cowles Library

 

Web of Science: Web of Science Core Collection

World's leading citation database covering the sciences, arts, humanities and social sciences.

Web of Science Core Collection

PDF Guides

Training options

Technical Support

What is Web of Science Core Collection?

1900 - present

Web of Science Core Collection is our premier resource on the platform and the world's most trusted citation index for scientific and scholarly research.

It is a curated collection of over 21,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available.

What makes Web of Science Core Collection unique?

  • All the journals that we select for inclusion in the collection are indexed cover-to-cover.
  • For each paper we capture:
    • all the authors
    • all author affiliations
    • the abstract and keywords (if provided by the author)
    • funding acknowledgements, including agency and grant numbers (if provided)
    • all the cited references

When possible we also add the following metadata for our indexed papers:

  • ORCID identifiers
  • Additional funding data from Medline and researchfish
  • Unified institution names
    • Organization name variants--the different ways authors refer to their organization--have been unified to a preferred org name. We have unified over 5,000 institutions worldwide and there is ongoing work to unify many more. This expedites the process of searching for an institution's total publication output.

Web of Science Core Collection: The Value of True Citation Indexing on the Path to Discovery

STEM Librarian