Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...
Springer eBooks, 2010-2020 Collections
A collection of electronic books in a variety of subjects. Users have the option to order a personal print copy of ebooks owned by Drake for $24.99 (regardless of the actual book price). These "MyCopy" books are soft-cover b/w print copies that are mailed to the user's address.
Chemistry Reference Books
Condensed Encyclopedia of Polymer Engineering Terms by
"This reference book provides a comprehensive overview, from A (ABS (ACRYLONITRILE BUTADIENE STYRENE)) to Z (ZIEGLER POLYMERIZATION PROCESS), of the nature, manufacture, structure, properties, processing, and applications of commercially available polymers. The main feature of the book is the range of topics from both theory and practice, which means that physical properties and applications of the materials concerned are described in terms of the theory, chemistry and manufacturing constraints which apply to them. It will therefore enable scientists to understand the commercial implications of their work as well as providing polymer technologists, engineers and designers with a theoretical background."
Dictionary of Chemistry by
"A Dictionary of Chemistry covers all the commonly encountered terms in chemistry, including physical chemistry and biochemistry. Clear and concise coverage of laboratory techniques, chemical engineering, and environmental matters, plus entries on such topics as buckminsterfullerene, fullerite, quasicrystal, oscillating reaction, and one-pot synthesis."
Dictionary of Scientists by
From Archimedes and Copernicus to Stephen Hawking and Stephen Jay Gould, this is the most authoritative and up-to-date biographical dictionary of scientists currently available. Spanning over 2,500 years, it covers all areas of science, from physics and astronomy to medicine and ecology, including key figures in the fields of mathematics and technology. Offering clear explanations of the science itself as well as its historical significance, the dictionary includes coverage of all Nobel Laureates in physics, chemistry, physiology, and medicine.
Dictionary of Weights, Measures, and Units by
This comprehensive dictionary provides clear definitions of all the units, prefixes, and styling of the Système International (SI), as well as industry-specific and traditional terms currently in use.
Credo Reference Portal to over 500 highly regarded reference sources. Examples of sources covered include: Art, Business, Food & Beverage, History, Language, Law, Literature, Medicine, Music, Philosophy, Psychology, Religion, Science, Social Sciences, and Technology.
Oxford Reference Online
Access to dictionaries & reference works in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.