It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...
ChEMBL is a database of ca. 500,000 bioactive compounds, their quantitative properties and bioactivities (binding constants, pharmacology and ADMET, etc). The data is abstracted and curated from the primary scientific literature and the data made available due to funding by the Wellcome Trust.
"This site contains interactive 3D animations for some of the most important organic reactions covered during an undergraduate chemistry degree with supporting information on reactivity and spectroscopy."
"The Human Proteome Organisation (HUPO) is an international scientific organization representing and promoting proteomics through international cooperation and collaborations by fostering the development of new technologies, techniques and training." Includes a glossary of proteomic terms among other things."
"All students of biology and chemistry know the story of the discovery of the structure of the DNA molecule. Watson and Crick (with the help of Wilkins and Franklin) were the first to elucidate the structure of the hereditary molecule that carries the information for all life forms. What is not often understood is that Watson and Crick's work rested on the earlier insights of Linus Pauling, the American chemist who described the three-dimensional structure of proteins and nucleic acids. Pauling's work was recognized by the Nobel committees twice: for chemistry and for peace. He remains the only scientist so honored. Linus Pauling Online, maintained by Oregon State University, is an admirable compendium of Pauling's immense contributions to the understanding of the molecules that shape our world, and of the issues in the scientific, biomedical, and political spheres that fascinated him over a long, productive life.
This is a huge, absorbing, and utterly involving site, suitable for use by students, teachers, and professionals alike. There is the story of the discovery of the DNA structure, for example, told from Pauling's perspective--much different from that of James Watson! Most exciting, perhaps, is the searchable database of Pauling's research notebooks. These are treasure troves of information that illuminate the drudgery, as well as the successes, of scientific work. Dip into notebook #24, for example, and on p. 084 read the frustrated scribble, "I can't explain this." Is this a moment of despair or of discovery? A typed note dated 22 April 1971 begins, "I have been interested for some time in the possibility that vitamin C has anti-cancer activity...." This Web site is astonishing, multilayered, and packed with information. In short, it is a fitting tribute to its namesake." Choice January, 2010.
"Published and owned by Nanowerk LLC, the Nanowerk site is a very comprehensive and educational nanotechnology/nanoscience portal. It delivers very current news and information that is rich in scope and content. The well-organized home page, with sections titled Databases, News, Nanobusiness, Resources, and Introduction to Nanotechnology, provides clear links to the site's content. A free, searchable Nanomaterial Database provides information on more than 1,900 materials, and a Company and Labs Directory offers more than 3,000 links. Also available are a conference calendar, video library, free industry reports, periodical directory, and book lists linked to Amazon.com. A site map, search box feature, and easy navigation scheme mean that users can locate information quickly. The site also offers a Spotlight feature article, an encyclopedia, blogs, quizzes, career center, and Nanotalk community forum."
This site collects all the nationally maintained databases and related information. This includes a nember of key databses for resaearch in genetics, biochemistry, molecular biology and medical sciences.