Research Guides: Clinical Guidelines: General

Guidelines

Here are the most useful general source for guidelines:

(scroll over the icon for more information)

Dynamed
Once you search for a topic, look for the "Guidelines and Resources" link at the bottom left of the table of contents for your topic.
Pubmed (MEDLINE)
PubMed also contains different clinical medical guidelines. In particular, when searching go to "Additional Filters" then "Article type" as a filter on the left. Then select "Practice Guideline" and "Show." Once selected it will show up on the left. Now select "Practice Guideline" again one more time and a blue and white check-box will appear next to the filter. The blue and white check-box tells you that this filter has been officially applied to your search results.
Cochrane Library The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision making. Cochrane Reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions. They are known for their well designed and methodologically strict Systematic Reviews. The Cochrane Library consists of seven databases and is used by a broad range of people interested in Evidence-Based Health Care. For more information: https://library.drake.edu/find/article-databases/title/cochrane-library/ What is in The Cochrane Library? Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (Cochrane Reviews) Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (Other Reviews) Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (Clinical Trials) Cochrane Methodology Register (Methods Studies) Health Technology Assessment Database (Technology Assessments) NHS Economic Evaluation Database (Economic Evaluations) These "about" pages have helpful information: http://www.cochranelibrary.com/about/about-cochrane-systematic-reviews.html (about Cochrane Reviews) http://www.cochranelibrary.com/about/about-the-cochrane-library.html#CENTRAL (about the Cochrane Library) 3 Online self-paced tutorials: http://www.cochranelibrary.com/help/how-to-use-cochrane-library.html
TRIP
Search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Once you type in your search term, please select Guidelines then USA for guidelines that are pertinent to the US.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Guidelines International Network (G-I-N) An international nonprofit association of international organizations and individuals involved in clinical practice guidelines.
Health Services/Technology Assessment Texts (HSTAT) Web site The National Institutes of Health (NIH) consensus statements, the U.S. Preventative Services Task Force (USPSTF) guides to clinical preventive services and evidence syntheses, AHRQ evidence reports and summaries, comparative effectiveness reviews, technical reviews and summaries, publications and reports of the Surgeon General, and other resources are available from their respective Web sites and also collectively at the Health Services/Technology Assessment Texts (HSTAT) Web site
ACP Clinical Practice Guidelines
ECRI Guidelines Trust ECRI Guidelines Trust considers authenticity, accessibility, currency, and the transparency and rigor of the guideline development process. These criteria align with the 2011 Institute of Medicine (IOM) definition of clinical practice guidelines as "statements that include recommendations intended to optimize patient care that are informed by a systematic review of evidence and an assessment of the benefits and harms of alternative care options."

Graduate Health Professions Librarian

Priya Shenoy

She/her

Email Me

Contact:

515-271-2879

Cowles Library, Room 147

Subjects: Athletic Training, Occupational Therapy, Pharmacy & Health Science

Cowles Library

Clinical Guidelines: General

Guidelines

Graduate Health Professions Librarian

Library Hours today & tomorrow