Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...

Cowles Library

 

A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
Ancestor search and genealogical information from census records, historical maps, and more.
New
The Architectural Digest Archive is an extensive collection of the famed international design magazine from its first issue in 1920 through 2011, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. Published monthly by Condé Nast, the magazine has enjoyed a longstanding reputation as the definitive source for architects and interior designers as well as for everyday design enthusiasts. Each issue features beautiful photography and information on architecture and interior design, art and antiques, travel destinations, and extraordinary products.
New
Art Magazine Collection Archives contains indexing and full text (including covers and advertisements) for Magazine Antiques (1922-2016), ARTnews (1902-2006) and Art in America (1913-2015). This archive provides a history of collecting over the course of the 20th century, as well as a comprehensive record of fine arts, art history, interior design, decorative arts, and architecture in the 20th and early 21st century. [Content from ARTnews and Art in America was sourced in part from the New York Public Library.]
New
The Bloomberg Businessweek Archive contains indexing, abstracting, and full text for the complete archive of Businessweek, beginning with its first issue in 1929 and ending in December 2000.
New
Financial information on companies, equities, fixed income, industry reports, SEC filings, interest rates, commodities, screening for stocks and mutual funds and more. **Note: Requires registration with your Drake email address.**
New
Collection of primary sources, supporting materials, archives, and video, as voiced by the disability community
  • Included in SuperSearch
New
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global offers access to 5 million citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1637 to the present day together with over 2.7 million full text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. The database offers full text for most of the dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Over 200,000 new dissertations and theses are added to the database each year.
New
Ebony is one of the key Afro-American magazines of the 20th century, covering 20th and 21st-Century current events, art, design, politics and culture, literature, advertising, and more. Their editorial philosophy is to “showcase the best and brightest as well as highlighting the disparities in Black life in the United States and worldwide”. The Ebony Magazine Archive contains indexing, abstracting and full text for the complete archive (including Covers and Advertisements) beginning in November 1945 to June 2014.
  • Included in SuperSearch
New
Full text backfiles of 26 major magazines and trade publications in the field of education from 1910-2015.
  • Included in SuperSearch
New
Full-text backfiles of major magazines and trade publications in the field of entertainment from 1880-2000.
New
The Esquire Magazine Archive consists of cover to cover processing dating back to issue number one in October 1933 through March 2014 of the American popular men's magazine Esquire, published by Hearst Communications.
New
The Fortune Magazine Archive consists of cover to cover processing dating back to issue number one in 1930 of the American business magazine Fortune, published by Time Inc.
  • Included in SuperSearch
New
HathiTrust Digital Library is a digital preservation repository and access platform. HathiTrust provides long-term preservation and access services to digitized content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house member institution initiatives. Items in the public domain are in full-view for everyone and items held in copyright are searchable.
New
JET Magazine Archive covers the civil rights movement, politics, education, and other social topics with an African American focus. It includes over 3,000 issues providing a broad view of news, culture, and entertainment from its first issue in 1951 through 2014.
New
The Maclean's Magazine Archive contains indexing, abstracting, and full text for the complete archive of this influential Canadian magazine beginning in 1905 and ending in 2015.
New
The People Magazine Archive consists of cover to cover processing dating back to issue number one in 1974 of the American popular magazine People, published by Time Inc.
New
The Sports Illustrated Magazine Archive consists of cover to cover processing dating back to issue number one in 1954 of the American sports magazine Sports Illustrated, published by Time Inc.
  • Included in SuperSearch
New
Partial or full access to Taylor & Francis journals.
New
The Atlantic Magazine Archive contains indexing, abstracting and full text for the complete archive (including Covers and advertisements) of this leading monthly magazine beginning in November 1857 and ending April 2014.
New
The U. S. News & World Report Magazine Archive (1926-1984) database consists of the influential news magazine U. S. News & World Report (1948-1984) -- plus the predecessor titles: United States Daily (1926-1933), United States News (1933-1948), and World Report (1946-1948). Each title features cover to cover processing, which renders all of the content from the front cover to the back cover fully searchable, including the advertisements.
  • Included in SuperSearch
New
The University of Michigan Press eBook Collection (UMP EBC) is a comprehensive collection of the University of Michigan Press’s scholarly eBooks across a variety of disciplines. The Press adds at least 80 titles annually. The UMP EBC is fully accessible on Fulcrum, a leading community-developed, open-source platform for digital scholarship developed by Michigan Publishing and the U-M Library. Fulcrum offers users the ability to read books with associated digital enhancements, such as 3-D models, embedded audio, video, and databases; zoomable online images, and interactive media.
New
The Vanity Fair Magazine Archive contains indexing, abstracting and full text for the complete archive (including Covers and Advertisements) beginning in September 1913 to February 1936 and March 1983 to October 2015.
  • Included in SuperSearch
New
Primary sources, documents, and teaching tools focused on women's activism in public life and social movements.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...