Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...
Finding Company Information
The J85: PR Principles page has useful resources for locating company information for public and private companies.
Encyclopedia of Public Relations
Encyclopedia of Public Relations by When initially published in 2005, the two-volume Encyclopedia of Public Relations was the first and most authoritative compilation of the subject. It remains the sole reference source for any library serving patrons in business, communication, and journalism as it explores the evolution of the field with examples describing the events, changing practices, and key figures who developed and expanded the profession. Reader's Guide topics include Crisis Communications & Management, Cyberspace, Ethics, Global Public Relations, Groups, History, Jargon, Management, Media, News, Organizations, Relations, Reports, Research, and Theories & Models. Led by renowned editor Robert L. Heath, with advisory editors and contributors from around the world, the set is designed to reach a wide array of student readers who will go on to serve as opinion leaders for improving the image and ethics of the practice. The Second Edition continues to explore key challenges facing the profession, such as earning the trust and respect of critics and the general public. Much greater emphasis and space will be placed on a theme that was just emerging when the First Edition appeared: the Internet and social media as public relations tools. International coverage and representation has been greatly expanded, as well. Finally, biographies (which are now widely available on the Web) have been deleted to give room to areas of enhanced coverage, and biographical material are included where appropriate within the context of topical entries. However, a long entry on women pioneers in public relations has been included as an appendix.
Call Number: REFERENCE HD59 .E48 2013
Available Online to Drake students & faculty:
Effective Skills for Public Relations by John Foster (5th edition)
AMA Handbook of Public Relations
Available for check out at Cowles Library
The AMA Handbook of Public Relations: Leveraging PR in the Digital World (2010)
Click the cover to access the ebook or
Find it on the shelf: HD59 .D558 2010
Selected PR News Sources (Trade Journals)
- PR News: a weekly newsletter that covers the public relations industry, including industry news, tips, case studies and more.
- Public Relations Strategist: Presents fresh perspectives & new ideas related to the strategic importance of effective public relations at the management level. Examines changing concepts & occassionally challenges current wisdom about the practice of public relations.
- PR Week (US): the latest news, in-depth analysis, top columnists, and reviews of campaigns - plus the best selection of job opportunities for PR professionals across the US
- O'Dwyer's PR Report: General news features about the public relations industry and the public issues with which it is involved. PR practice by professionals at PR firms and corporate PR departments are highlighted. There is also coverage of the many services that support PR such as video, data retrieval, release dissemination, desktop publishing, research, etc. Special departments cover media and PR, law and PR and management consulting for PR professionals.
Selected PR Scholarly Sources (Academic Journals)
- Journal of Public Relations Research: Examines understanding of why organizations practice public relations as they do & ways to conduct public relations more effectively, as well as providing scholarly criticism, & developing the history, ethics & philosophy of public relations.
- Public Relations Quarterly: Articles, commentary, interviews, profiles, book reviews, news of note and special issues for professionals in public relations through 2007. (Also available in print in bound periodicals through 2009).
- Public Relations Review: The Public Relations Review is the oldest journal devoted to articles that examine public relations in depth. Most of the articles are based on empirical research undertaken by professionals and academics in the field.
- PRSSA (Public Relations Student Society of America): The Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA) is the foremost organization for students interested in public relations and communications. We seek to advance the public relations profession by nurturing generations of future professionals. We advocate rigorous academic standards for public relations education, the highestethical principles and diversity in the profession.
Librarian for Digital Literacy & General Education
Live Chat with a Librarian
Have a resource you think would be helpful? Send it to Carrie, and she'll add it to this page.