Skip to main content

In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...

Cowles Library

 

Remote Cowles Library Resources & Support

Resources and services to assist with remote learning and instruction during the COVID-19 crisis

Publishers and content providers around the world have come forward to support academic institutions during this challenging time. In addition to the journals, databases, and eBook collections you regularly have access to, the table below lists a number of no-cost resources that are available to you for a limited time (most through the end of spring semester).

Resource Description Available until In
SuperSearch
eTextbooks
RedShelf Select up to 7 eTextbooks from participating publishers. Requires a free RedShelf account; follow these instructions. May 25, 2020 No
VitalSource Select up to 7 eTextbooks from participating publishers. Requires a free VitalSource account created with your Drake email address. May 25, 2020 No
Streaming Video
JoVE STEM Education Includes access to:

Cowles Library already subscribes to JoVe Chemistry and Neuroscience

June 15, 2020 Yes
Kanopy Streaming Films A selection of 15 free films and access to all films in the Great Courses series May 31, 2020 No
Netflix documentaries Netflix has made 10 documentaries and documentary series (over 30 total videos) available for free on their Netflix US YouTube channel. TBD No
Sage Research Methods Video Hundreds of video demonstrations showing research in action to help users build their skills as they prepare to conduct original research. June 30, 2020 Yes
Sage Video Teaching- and research-oriented videos in the social sciences. June 30, 2020 Yes
Article, eBooks, and More
Bloomsbury Collections May 31, 2020 Yes
Cambridge Core eBooks In addition to Cambridge Histories Online, to which the library already subscribes, there are more than 1,600 eBooks and eTextbooks from the following collections: May 31, 2020 Yes
De Gruyter eBooks 75,000+ eBooks from University Press collections such as Harvard, Yale, Princeton, Cornell, and more. June 30, 2020 Yes
EBSCO Academic Search Ultimate The Ultimate version of Academic Search more than doubles the number of journals available in the library's current Premier subscription. June 30, 2020 Yes
EBSCO Business Source Ultimate The Ultimate version of Business Source more than doubles the number of journals available in the library's current Premier subscription. June 30, 2020 Yes
Flipster Hundreds of popular magazines in categories like Entertainment, Food & Cooking, Fitness & Health, Family & Kids, Sports, and many more. May 31, 2020 Yes
Index of Medieval Art Images and descriptive data to complement the print index at Princeton University. June 1, 2020 No
Infobase

Access to 7 databases: American History; Bloom's Literature; Ferguson's Career Guidance Center; Issues & Controversies; Today's Science; World News Digest; Writer's Reference Center.

Username: distancelearning
Password: trial

June 15, 2020 No
Internet Archive The Internet Archive has opened a National Emergency Library, which provides access to digital versions of more than 1.4 million books. Borrowing a digital book requires creating a free account, and you can borrow up to 10 books at a time. Read the National Emergency Library FAQ. June 30, 2020 No
JSTOR Archive & Primary Source collections

The following collections have been temporarily integrated into our JSTOR database. While they cannot be searched separately, JSTOR has provided information about what these collections contain.

Archive Journal collections

  • Business IV
  • Ecology and Botany II
  • Hebrew Journals
  • Ireland
  • Jewish Studies

Thematic Collections

  • Lives of Literature
  • Security Studies
  • Sustainability

Primary Source Collections

  • World Heritage Sites: Africa
  • Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa
  • Global Plants
June 30, 2020 Yes
JSTOR Books Expanded access to JSTOR eBooks available to us. June 30, 2020 Yes
JSTOR Public Health Journals Twenty-six public health journals covering topics including Epidemiology, Health Policy and Administration, Occupational and Environmental Health, Health Equity and the Culture of Health, Aging, Bioethics, and Health Promotion. June 30, 2020 Yes
Ohio State University Press eBooks All eBooks (nearly 700) from the Ohio State University Press eBook Collection. Duration of crisis No
R2 Digital Library More than 5,000 science, technology, and math eBooks. June 8, 2020 Yes
The Royal Society journals Full listing of The Royal Society's 10 research journals. TBD No
Sage Knowledge Books and Reference More than 5,000 book and reference titles from across the social sciences. June 30, 2020 Yes
University of California Press journals All online journal content from 46 journals in the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences. June 30, 2020 No
University of Michigan Press eBooks All content (1,150+ eBooks) in the University of Michigan Press eBook Collection. June 30, 2020 Yes