Skip to main content

In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...

Cowles Library

 

Remote Cowles Library Resources & Support

Resources and services to assist with remote learning and instruction during the COVID-19 crisis

In order to help minimize spread of the novel coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is closed.

As a result, we have adjusted or suspended certain services, as outlined below. However, we continue to offer online services, resources, and support for teaching and learning, which we have listed throughout the rest of this guide.

Library Building Hours

At this time Cowles Library, including the 24/7 After Hours area, is closed.

Archives & Special Collections

University Archives & Special Collections is closed to in-person services.  We will still be working with email inquiries to provide the best possible solutions to our patrons’ needs. It may take Archives personnel longer to respond to your request because access to the physical collections is limited at this time.  Digital Collections can be accessed at content.library.drake.edu

University Archives & Special Collections is unable to accept any transfers of records or donations at this time.  Please email archives@drake.edu if you are interested in planning for a donation at a future date.

Continue to check archives.library.drake.edu for updates. 

Print Books and Other Physical Materials

On June 15, Cowles Library began offering a contact-free lobby pickup service to provide access to our physical collections. You can now place holds on items through SuperSearch and pick them up at the library on select days and times. Visit our Lobby Pickup Service page for details.

Online Chat Service

You can access our Ask A Librarian chat service on the Library Help page, or look for the “Chat Now” widget in the right margin of our web pages and SuperSearch. Chat hours are:

Monday - Thursday: 9:00 am - 8:00 pm
Friday: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm

FastTRAC and InterLibrary Loan

FastTRAC book borrowing and lending is available via SuperSearch. Information about using the FastTRAC service is available in our FastTRAC guide.

We are still accepting Interlibrary Loan (ILL) requests for articles that can be obtained and delivered electronically. However, tangible items may not be available.

Library Material Due Dates and Returning Items

The library is extending due dates for all loans to August 31, 2020, and will continue to adjust due dates as needed.

You can review your due dates (and renew, if necessary) anytime. Just sign in to your library account and click on the Loans section.

If you want to return items, you may use the book drop located just outside the north entrance of Cowles Library. However, we encourage you to hold on to your items until the library reopens.