Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...
Academic Search Ultimate
Scholarly, multidisciplinary full-text database, with more than 10,000 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals.
America: History and Life with Full Text
Database of full text coverage of the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Features newspapers, magazines, and journals from various ethnic and minority presses.
Indigenous Peoples: North America
Explores the political, social, and cultural history of Native Peoples from the 16th century through the 20th century.
Below is a list of database specific to other subjects. Consider searching in one of these subject databases to see how other diciplines approach your topic
Education Source offers full text articles covering all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
A major indexing and abstracting database for Communication Studies and Journalism & Mass Communication. It indexes over 400 journals and includes the full text of over 200 journals in these fields.
An online research tool with more than 100 million pages of legal history available in a fully-searchable, image-based format.
Social Services Abstracts
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
National Library of Medicine's free version of Medline
National Indian Law Library
Law library devoted to American Indian law
Indians of the Midwest
A website created and maintained by the Newberry Library in Chicago to highlight current research in American Indian Studies through the library's collection.
American Indian Health
Supported by the National Library of Medicine as an information portal to the issues impacting the health and well-being of American Indians
Updated daily, this award-winning website provides quality news and information on a range of topics from a Native American perspective as well as resources on issues facing Native Americans today.