Research Guides: Biology: General

BrowZine Journals

Web of Science sub databases

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
A subset of databases within the Web of Science that provide access to the world's leading citation databases, with multidisciplinary information from over 12,000 high impact journals and over 160,000 conference proceedings from around the world. (Includes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index.)
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window Contains citations to items in journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports, in all areas of the life sciences and biology. Encompasses over 5,300 journal titles and 22 million records with coverage back to 1926.
Current Contents Connect This link opens in a new window Current awareness database provides access to complete tables of contents, abstracts, bibliographic information, abstracts from recently published issues of scholarly journals, and evaluated websites.
Data Citation Index This link opens in a new window Indexes data studies and datasets across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences and links the datasets/studies with published literature.
Derwent Innovations Index This link opens in a new window Enables patent searching, letting you conduct patent and citation searches of inventions in chemical, electrical, electronic, and mechanical engineering.
SciELO Citation Index This link opens in a new window SciELO content includes regional journals from Latin American and the Caribbean as well as titles from Spain, Portugal and South Africa.
Zoological Record This link opens in a new window Provides comprehensive coverage of international zoological literature.

All Subscribed WoS Databases

InterLibrary Loan (ILL)

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Free to all Drake faculty, staff, and students. If there are books, book chapters, or articles that we don't have access to at Cowles, we can almost always get access to these items via another library. Order your items through Interlibrary Loan.
WorldCat.org
Search libraries across the country. The "Check for Full Text @ Drake" link will take you to an InterLibrary Loan request form.

Important Resources

AccessScience This link opens in a new window Access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology from Encyclopedia of Science and Technology.
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window Contains citations to items in journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports, in all areas of the life sciences and biology. Encompasses over 5,300 journal titles and 22 million records with coverage back to 1926. BIOSIS Citation Index combines the Biological Abstracts journal material as well as additional book, patent, and meeting content that is critical to life sciences research. BIOSIS Citation Index also allows for the added Web of Science specialized indexing, which helps the researcher discover what items their content cited and what items cited their content.
MEDLINE (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window Indexes over 4,600 journals in the medical and health sciences. Links to full-text where available.

Very Short Introductions (Oxford's) - Science and Mathematics Original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Balanced and complete--discussions of the central issues in a given topic

Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science, a database that provides quick and powerful access to the world's leading citation databases and sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities research content. (Includes: Biosis Citation Index, Currents Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, MEDLINE, SciELO Citation Index, Zoological Record, and the Web of Science Core Collection: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index.)

Web of Science Research Guide
more...less...
Webpage which provides further information on the depth and types of resources available in the Web of Science.
Book Catalog Cowles library's online catalog of books and ebooks.
Journals Direct access to Cowles Library's journal collection. Search by title or browse by subject. Electronic journals are available through this link.

SuperSearch

Web of Science Diagram

The Web of Science (previously known as the Web of Knowledge) provides quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Coverage includes the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, available to 1900.

The Web of Science Includes: Biosis Citation Index, Currents Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, MEDLINE, SciELO Citation Index, Zoological Record, and the Web of Science Core Collection: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index.)

Find Journals

This form allows you to browse the tables of contents of scholarly journals and choose full text articles. To search for articles across multiple journal titles, use SuperSearch.

STEM Librarian

Dan Chibnall

Email Me

Contact:

Office 137
Cowles Library

515.271.2112

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Environmental Science & Sustainability, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Physics

Cowles Library

Biology: General