RefWorks automates the tasks of citing information & creating bibliographies for research papers. Allows you to create your own citations or import from online databases. Also provides a stable location to keep the citations you find as you work. For off-campus access, call the Reference Desk at 271-2113 and ask to speak with the librarian on duty to obtain the site code.
Need help exporting citations from a particular database? Check out our information page featuring many of our databases.
Education Resource Information Center. ERIC is the largest and most comprehensive database for education materials. ERIC is useful for researching all levels of education, education psychology, and for many social issues.
Education Resources Information Center. This is the public access point to the ERIC Database. No log-in or account information is required. ERIC is the most comprehensive database of education information available.
Education Source offers full text articles covering all levels of education—from early childhood to higher education—as well as all educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education, and testing.
Multi-topic collection of news, journals, and more. Over 8,000 journals in all fields commonly taught in colleges and universities, as well as current events and some general interest materials. Most (but not all) resources are in full text, and scholarly.
Small but useful collection of teaching-related articles.
Find Journals - Search Only
This searches by keyword so if you know the journal title, enter it in quotes for more accurate results. For example, "American Historical Review."
Once you have identified a dissertation and would like a copy, I recommend the following five steps:
Google the title, or part of the title, of the dissertation. Many writers of dissertations post theirs online, or post useful portions.
Write to the author. Usually you can find their email address with a Google search. Many authors are happy to share their dissertations, or maybe just parts of them.
Request it via Interlibrary Loan. Some schools do not lend these out, but many do.
Check http://worldcat.org for it as a book. Many dissertations do get re-published as books. These can be successfully requested through ILL when the dissertation wasn't.
Search ProQuest Dissertations. Find the dissertation you want. If the above steps fail, decide if you want to pay for the download. If you do, it's a purchase, not a loan, so you do get to keep it forever.