Research Guides: Chemistry: Chemistry

Chemistry BrowZine

Find Journals

This form allows you to browse the tables of contents of scholarly journals and choose full text articles. To search for articles across multiple journal titles, use SuperSearch.

InterLibrary Loan (ILL)

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Free to all Drake faculty, staff, and students. If there are books, book chapters, or articles that we don't have access to at Cowles, we can almost always get access to these items via another library. Order your items through Interlibrary Loan.
WorldCat.org
Search libraries across the country. The "Check for Full Text @ Drake" link will take you to an InterLibrary Loan request form.

Useful Databases

AccessScience This link opens in a new window Science encyclopedia plus science news, definitions, biographies, illustrations, animations and more.
ACS Publications This link opens in a new window Full-text of 32 journals published by the American Chemical Society

Book Catalog Cowles library's online catalog of books and ebooks.
Journals Direct access to Cowles Library's journal collection. Search by title or browse by subject. Electronic journals are available through this link.
Chem Spider

Current Chemical Reactions This link opens in a new window Each of the more than 880,000 reactions provides complete reaction diagrams, critical conditions, bibliographic data, and author abstracts.
Index Chemicus This link opens in a new window Text- and substructure-searchable, this database provides access to the chemical compound information needed to find research data, analyze trends, journals and researchers, and share findings. (Part of the Web of Science Core Collection)
Journal of Visualized Experiments (JoVE) This link opens in a new window Online peer-reviewed journal devoted to investigations of the structure, function, physiology, and pathophysiology of the brain and nervous system, and the publication of biological research in a video format.We have a subscription to JoVE Biology and JoVE Neuroscience, as well as the Chemistry Education section.

Very Short Introductions (Oxford's) - Science and Mathematics Original introductions to a wide range of subjects. Balanced and complete--discussions of the central issues in a given topic

SciFinder Scholar This link opens in a new window
Register before using (Free to Drake Students).Search topics, substances, reactions
Web of Science This link opens in a new window Web of Science, a database that provides quick and powerful access to the world's leading citation databases and sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities research content. (Includes: Biosis Citation Index, Currents Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, MEDLINE, SciELO Citation Index, Zoological Record, and the Web of Science Core Collection: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index.)
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window A subset of databases within the Web of Science that provide access to the world's leading citation databases, with multidisciplinary information from over 12,000 high impact journals and over 160,000 conference proceedings from around the world. (Includes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index.)

SuperSearch

Web of Science Diagram

The Web of Science (previously known as the Web of Knowledge) provides quick, powerful access to the world's leading citation databases. Coverage includes the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, available to 1900.

The Web of Science Includes: Biosis Citation Index, Currents Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, MEDLINE, SciELO Citation Index, Zoological Record, and the Web of Science Core Collection: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index.)

STEM Librarian

Dan Chibnall

Email Me

Contact:

Office 137
Cowles Library

515.271.2112

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Environmental Science & Sustainability, Kinesiology, Mathematics, Physics

Cowles Library

Chemistry: Chemistry