Research Guides: Web of Science: Web of Science Core Collection

Web of Science Core Collection

Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
A subset of databases within the Web of Science that provide access to the world's leading citation databases, with multidisciplinary information from over 12,000 high impact journals and over 160,000 conference proceedings from around the world. (Includes: Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, Science Citation Index Expanded, and Social Sciences Citation Index.)

PDF Guides

Web of Science Core Collection Quick Reference Guide
A quick guide to help you get started using the Web of Science Core Collection
Web of Science Core Collection - Descriptive Document Your in-depth guide to Web of Science, covering the content, indexing and search capabilities.
Author Search Guide Find your articles using Web of Science Author Search then claim them to your Publons profile.
Web of Science Personalization Create a personal profile that allows you to save searches, create alerts, save search results and use Web of Science from anywhere.

Training options

Register for live training
Calendar of live training events
View Tutorials
Library of short videos
Enroll in self-guided courses
In-depth learning available on demand
Request Training
Ask us about training options for your organization.

Technical Support

Get Help Now
Have a product question? Search our Knowledgebase or open a support case with our Customer Care teams.

What is Web of Science Core Collection?

1900 - present

Web of Science Core Collection is our premier resource on the platform and the world's most trusted citation index for scientific and scholarly research.

It is a curated collection of over 21,000 peer-reviewed, high-quality scholarly journals published worldwide (including Open Access journals) in over 250 science, social sciences, and humanities disciplines. Conference proceedings and book data are also available.

What makes Web of Science Core Collection unique?

All the journals that we select for inclusion in the collection are indexed cover-to-cover.
For each paper we capture:
- all the authors
- all author affiliations
- the abstract and keywords (if provided by the author)
- funding acknowledgements, including agency and grant numbers (if provided)
- all the cited references

When possible we also add the following metadata for our indexed papers:

ORCID identifiers
Additional funding data from Medline and researchfish
Unified institution names
- Organization name variants--the different ways authors refer to their organization--have been unified to a preferred org name. We have unified over 5,000 institutions worldwide and there is ongoing work to unify many more. This expedites the process of searching for an institution's total publication output.