Skip to main content

Cowles Library

 

Citation Management Tools

Guide to help you choose, install, and use citation managers like Zotero, Mendeley, and EndNote Basic.

Cowles Library's subscription to RefWorks will expire on June 30, 2020.

If you have used RefWorks to manage citations and want to keep managing those citations, you will need to move them to another citation manager before June 30, 2020.

Exporting from RefWorks

There are two versions of RefWorks: New and Legacy. If you are actively using RefWorks, chances are very good that you are using the New version. However, instructions for exporting from both versions are provided below.

New Version

  1. Log in to your RefWorks account.
  2. Make sure you're viewing All References, then select Share > Export references from the top menu.

  1. Select the "All references" and "RIS Format" options and click Export.

  1. Save the .ris file to your desktop. Once you've chosen another citation manager, follow that product's instructions for importing a file of references.

Legacy Version

  1. From the References menu select Export.  Choose Selected, Page or All in List.
  2. Under Export Format select Bibliographic Software.
  3. Click the Export button. Your references will be displayed in the browser window for you to copy and paste into a document of your choice.
  4. Follow your browser's instructions for viewing the file and be sure to save the file to your desktop before closing. Alternatively, a prompt in the lower right corner of the screen will offer the option to email the file to you.
  5. Once you've chosen another citation manager, follow that product's instructions for importing a file of references.

RefWorks Folders

Please note that if you have created folders in RefWorks to organize your references, you will need to create those folders in the new citation manager you've selected and export each folder from RefWorks separately. While there is a standard format for citations, there is no standard format for folders and directories, so folders are not automatically re-created in the destination tool.