Skip to main content

Cowles Library

 

University Records Management - University Archives and Special Collections,Cowles Library: Policy and Guidelines

Resources and important information regarding non-current University records of historical value.

What records will the Archives accept?

University Records Collection Policy

The Archives will accept non-current University records having permanent, historical value. These records may include:

Administrative: Annual reports, executive policies & decisions, documents, correspondence, etc.

Budgets/Acquisitions

Committees/Councils: Minutes, reports, memoranda, correspondence, etc.

Faculty/Staff: Vitas, reports, correspondence, curriculum/course syllabi; general review/promotion/tenure processes; organizational charts.

Facility: Documents, correspondence related to additions/renovations; construction contracts; architectural renderings/plans/blueprints.

Statistics/Surveys

Publications: Internally published handbooks, newsletters, manuals; news articles about the department or its faculty/staff.

Marketing/Publicity: Press releases, posters, brochures, invitations, or programs documenting department events.

Media: Photographs, negatives, slides, DVDs, or VHS tapes recording department events.

                  Awards: Department/Office plaques or certificates  

Archiving of Electronic Records is not yet available.   Record formats may include:  Email, PDF, PowerPoint, Web pages, JPEG/TIFF image files, and MP3/.wav audio files

The Archives will not accept:   Personnel files, personal planners/calendars, canceled checks, bank statements or receipts, tax-related files - anything with Social Security numbers on it, personal salary information.  

Cleaning out your files?

University Retention

University Archives Associate

Katherine Lincoln's picture
Katherine Lincoln
Contact:
Drake University Archives and Special Collections, Cowles Library
515-271-2933