In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...
This guide supercedes the previous policies document contained in the Meeting Notes box below.
*indicates minimum requirement for all guides (i.e., not just subject-based guides).
1. Include a Guide Description*
If possible, mention specific resources (e.g., "databases, journals and websites…") rather than the more generic "resources". If your guide has a special feature, or something that has been specifically requested by department faculty, call it out in the description.
To include a description:
2. Assign at least one Tag*
Tags offer one more way for users to find your Research Guide. Follow steps 1-4 in the previous section, then select the Assigned Tags tab. This will show all of the tags assigned to your guide, as well as all available tags. Follow the instructions provided to add new tags or assign existing tags. (Any guide that uses New Books should use the "New Books" tag.)
3. Librarian Profile
A Librarian Profile box should occupy the top right column of your guide's Home page and should include, at minimum, the following:
4. Provide a SuperSearch box
A SuperSearch box should be found on your guide's Home page. You can link to the main SuperSearch box found under the Search Tools tab in this Toolbox guide . If you'd like to have a custom SuperSearch box that only searches a subset of databases and resources, or a different size box, contact Andrew or Marc.
5. Library Help box
Each guide should link to a Library Help box. There are a few sizes to choose from under the Library Help (LibAnswers) tab in this Toolbox guide. Suggested placement is in the right column.
6. Link to Drake department*
A link to the relevant Drake University department should be included on the guide's Home page, typically under the Librarian Profile box.
7. Regular Updates
Research Guides are intended to be dynamic and should be updated regularly (recommendation: every 3 months). The Last Updated date displays alongside the guide title, and students might see guides with old dates as less useful.
1. New Books list
Instructions for included a New Books list on your guide can be found by clicking the New Book Lists tab in this Toolbox guide.
2. Catalog Search box - After the migration to Primo in 2016, a separate catalog search box is no longer necessary.
3. Find Journals box
A few different boxes are available for linking. Find them under the Search Tools tab in this Toolbox guide.
4. Database List
Feel free to create a "Most Useful Databases" or "Top Databases" box/page for your guide, as appropriate. When adding databases, click Add/Reorder and select "Database". This will allow you to reuse the master database entry, and you can customize the description if you don't like the default. If you don't see the database you need, contact Andrew.
Research Guides
2-28-2010
Faculty Meeting
-------------------
(1) EHIS - Search Multiple Databases
- retain until "all" specialized supersearch are available
- flag as discontinued
(2) Go live date moved to March 21.
(3) PROFILES [This information has been superceded by the information in the Minimum Standards for Curricular Research Guides box above]
- All profiles will contain the following:
- an image (does not have to be portrait photo)
- Profile Box Title = Librarian
- Display Name
- Email Address
- Contact Information must contain phone number
- Subject specialty should be populated
HOW? -- Research Guides > MyAdmin > Customize Your Profile (for the basic settings above)
Research Guides > MyAdmin > Customize Profile Page (lets you create a "profile page" that contains additional content and can be made public)
(4) ALL GUIDES [This information has been superceded by the information in the Minimum Standards for Curricular Research Guides box above]
- the top level page should contain the following content as judged appropriate by the librarian
- Librarian profile
- Either a specialized instance of SuperSearch or the general SuperSearch instance (Toolbox: Search Tools)
- Connector box to Libraryhelp (Toolbox: Library Help (LibAnswers))
- Catalog Search box (Toolbox: Search Tools)
- Find Journals (Toolbox: Search Tools)
- Link to relevant Drake departments/schools/colleges
- New Book List (use of a separate tab recommended) (Toolbox: New Book Lists)
- recommended layouts
- profile should be top right column
- supersearch should be top center (wide) or top left (narrow)
(5) TAGS [This information has been superceded by the information in the Minimum Standards for Curricular Research Guides box above]
- all guides should have at least one tag
- any guide using new books should use the "New Books" tag
HOW? -- unpublished guides - publish guide
published guides - go to Command Bar > Guide Settings > Edit Assigned Tags
(6) Non-Library faculty/contributors
- will be listed as co-owners so profiles will appear
(7) Colors
- all colors may be overridden at some point in the near future by Marketing guidelines so appearance is subject to change
- base colors will be supplemented by a small number of additional colors to be used for highlighting, background.
- Chris P and Claudia F will develop the palette
Additional Action Items
- correct errata in history supersearchn - done
- add the meebo chat wizard to RG main page - done
- create some smaller journal search boxes for linking - done
- tweak the style to put some more space in between tags - done
