Skip to main content
In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more...
This form allows you to browse the tables of contents of scholarly journals and choose full text articles. To search for articles across multiple journal titles, use SuperSearch
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) obtains books, journal articles, theses, dissertations, and many other types of materials not owned by Cowles Library.
RefWorks automates the tasks of citing information & creating bibliographies for research papers. Allows you to create your own citations or import from online databases. About using RefWorks
Here are electronic resources that are primarily focused on the field of architecture.
Here is a collection of images from the British Architectural Library of the Royal Institute of British Architects. All periods are represented and related subjects, such as interior design, landscaping, planning and the decorative arts are also covered. "The visual resources comprise over 1.5 million photographs, 750,000-plus drawings, 135,000-plus books, about 700 current journals, papers of British architects and architectural historians, and archives of institutions and societies." [Choice, July 2014]
The Design Box
The American Institute of Graphic Artists is the largest and most well-known professional association for those involved in the graphic arts. This is the organization's home page, with links to all sorts of news, tools, ideas, and employment opportunities.
The Design Box contains web sites for organizations, associations, and other resources relating to Graphic Design.
Cary Graphic Arts Collection at The Wallace Center
From the Rochester Institute of Technology, this site provides access to the Cary Collection of graphic arts materials. Included are images of "printing presses, letter blocks, art, books, and more..." Collections cover "lithography, bookmaking, and typography" among other topics. Useful for "the history and development of printing and the graphic arts." Searching is possible by keyword and category. [Choice online, June '13]
The Design Archive
Here are found several collections of successful design ideas in a wide range of media. The page is meant to get you thinking about your own design ideas.
"This...site for design (graphic, architectural, product) professionals, faculty, and students provides critical writings by well-known writers...The various channels are titled Observatory, for Design and Visual Culture; Places, Forum of Design for the Public Realm; Change Observer, for Design and Social Innovation; Observer Media, for Audio and Video; and Oblog, the Design Observer Blog..." Includes interviews and podcasts from leading design figures as well as job listings. [Choice, Aug. '14]
International Sculpture Center
"...[A] member-supported, nonprofit organization founded in 1960 to champion the creation and understanding of sculpture and its unique, vital contribution to society." "A full-service resource for sculptors, collectors, historians, and others...Under Resources, visitors may browse or search a comprehensive list of museums, parks and gardens, and more...A valuable source for anyone interested in the world of sculpture." [Choice Online, Oct. 2011]
Here are web resources focusing on the art of sculpture, including important exhibitions, individual pieces and educational sources, both visual and textual.
Photography and Video
Museum of Contemporary Photography
A collection of more than 9,000 photos, videos, and other photography-related items. Some are digitized and open-access. May be searched by artist/photographer or artwork title.
The web is a major source for visual images. Here is a listing of those that pertain to the production of photographic images and video.
George Eastman House
The Eastman House "houses more than 400,000 photographs/negatives, 28,000 films, 4 million film stills, 53,000 publications, and over 25,000 physical artifacts, such as early camera equipment. The website provides access to digitized images and publications from the collections as well as a variety of resources for educators, researchers, and photographers." [Choice, June 2013] Somewhat difficult to use.
Combines displays of experimental and avant-garde video artists with a space for exhibitions and performances by artists in the broader video community. Metadata for each video is included. Material is organized according to broad categories (e.g. Music, Comedy, Documentary).
Printing and Printmaking
In this box are listed sources relating to the art of printmaking and printing.
Atlas of Early Printing
"[T]he Atlas is a teaching tool that offers a graphic description of the spread of printing up to the year 1500." [Choice, Feb. 2009] In addition to an interactive map of Europe showing the location of individual printers, universities, paper mills, and trade routes, from 1450-1500, there is a timeline and animations showing how early books were produced. Many links to other resources are available here as well.
Digital Library Resources
Getty Publication Virtual Library
"This site makes accessible some 250 digitized titles from Getty Publication's 40-plus-year publishing history, including many out-of-print titles. Exhibitions catalogues..., the J. Paul Getty Museum's journals, and Getty symposium papers are just a few of the publications available... Users may search by title, author, or keyword... They may also limit a search or browse via drop-down menus for imprint/program, publication type, subject category, or series." [Choice online, June, 2014]
What You May Find Here
On this page you will find links to resources relevant to the study of art and art history at Drake University. There are also links to the Department of Art and Design. In addition to databases and search engines provided by the library, there is a broad range of electronic resources selected by the librarian responsible for this page. The fields of Art (including Painting, Printmaking, Sculpture, Drawing, Photography, and Video), Art History, and Design are covered. As well, there are certain tools which may aid you in compiling your research project. The page is updated periodically and every effort is made to keep the information found here current.
Key Art & Design Research Databases
Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete includes more than 8,992 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,300 journals and a total of 10,900 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
Art & Architecture Complete - Ebsco
Index & abstracts of major journals in art, architecture, film, graphic arts, and related areas. Links to some full text where available.
Information on over 8,000 renowned artists.
Artists' Books Online
"An online repository of facsimiles, metadata, and criticism."
ArtLex: Dictionary of Visual Art
"...ArtLex provides basic definitions of art term, numerous illustration (sic), quotations, pronunciation notes, and links to other Web resources...ArtLex provides an index that is a list of shortcuts to longer articles; individual terms may be searched using a simple search engine..." [Choice, Nov. 2008)
The ARTstor Digital Library is one of the premiere image databases for research in art and art historical topics. It includes more than 80 collections of over one million images.
CPANDA: Cultural Policy and the Arts national Data Archive
"As 'the woprld's first interactive digital archive of policy-relevant data on the arts and cultural policy in the United States,' [CPANDA] offers free access to data sets created using well-documented social science methodology...Data sets can be browsed by title, state, and subject." [Choice, March 2007]
CREDO Reference contains a variety of reference sources in subjects ranging from Art to History to Law to Technology and almost everything in between.
Duke Scholarly Collection
Full-text of approximately 35 scholarly journals published by Duke University Press.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Access over 100 standard Gale Reference works online! Includes reference materials in the subject areas of: Arts, Business, Education, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation & World, Religion, and Social Science.
Google Art Project
"The website includes 37,000-plus artworks, 7,700 artists, more than 12,400 galleries, and 184 collections in 40 countries." [Choice, June 2013] The site allows you to view art works in detail, to take a virtual stroll through collections, and to create your own collection and share it with others. A good tool for group projects.
Guide to Research in Islamic Art and Architecture
Created by Andras Riedlmayer, Bibliographer in Islamic Art and Architecture at Harvard, this site provides access to resources and links to electronic materials relating to all aspects of Islamic art and architecture. Some specific resources may be unavailable to users not affiliated with Harvard University.
The Guardian (UK) Art & Design Section
This online version of the art & design section of The Guardian contains "the latest news on art, architecture, design & photography."
Electronic archive of the complete journal runs (excluding the most recent 2-5 years) of over 500 journal titles in over 20 academic disciplines.
Oxford Art Online
Formerly Grove Art Online this database provides access to The Dictionary of Art, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms plus links to more than 40,000 images.
Full-text of 200 scholarly journals published by Johns Hopkins University and other university presses.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
Offered by the Getty Research Institute, this database provides open access to parts of the BHA, the "International Bibliography of Art" (IBA), and the "International Repertory of the Literature of Art" (RILA). BHA constitutes a record of scholarship on Western art, covering 1,200 journals from 1990-2007. IBA extends to just two years (2008-09), and RILA covers a much broader geographical range (as its title suggests) from 1975-1989. BHA is not currently maintained, so no new materials are being added, but this resource is still a valuable starting point for research in art history.
Digital Images Online: Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library
Here you may find digital images from a number of collections held in the Beinecke Library at Yale University.Included are photographs, manuscripts, artwork, objects, and "scanned pagers from printed books." Materials have been selected from such collections as Medieval and Renaissance Manuscripts, the Cary Playing Card Database, Papyrus collections and Western Americana. Somewhat difficult to navigate, but a source of much of interest. [Choice, Aug. 2011]
Getty Research Portal
The Getty Research Institute in California, in cooperation with several major European and American art institutes and museums, has produced this database of nearly 20,000 digital texts from the field of art history. Users have two search options: a simple keyword search, or an advanced search option that allows searching by author, title, and subject as well.
International Foundation for Art Research (IFAR)
The purpose of this web site is mainly to assist experts to determine the authenticity of works of art on an impartial, authoritative basis. However, it also provides "catalogues raisonnes" for numerous artists' work so interested researchers might survey large numbers of works by specific individuals. There are also guides to art terminology and determining provenance.
Midwestern Art Museum Websites
Other Collections and Museum Web Sites
Archives of American Art
The Smithsonian Institution has put together this database of 16 million primary source materials on American culture including both print and visual resources. Many are fully digitized. There is a separate Research Collection arranged alphabetically. An image gallery search box is also provided.
Here you will find links to the web sites of specialized digital collections of art from museums and open access databases.
Art Project, powered by Google
Take virtual tours of seventeen or more museums around the world. "Walk" through the galleries and view the art found there. Many sites have high resolution images of the works of art in their collections. The site uses Google's "Street View" technology.
Asia Art Archive
"Covering contemporary art movements across Asia, the online iteration of the [Asia Art Archive] provides a searchable catalog of the full collection, located in Hong Kong, as well as a growing collection of digitized material." [Choice online, Jan. 2013] Both simple and advanced search options are provided.
Himalayan Art Resources
From the Shelley and Donald Rubin Foundation, this database contains images of Himalayan art objects from over 300 different collections around the world. "This resources provides numerous access points for content, allowing browsing by geography, religious movements, iconography, and more...A My Gallery feature allows users to store favorite images together..." [Choice, August 2013] One cautionary note: image quality varies greatly among the collections.
"...[A]n online museum dedicated to presenting the lives of working people through art, music, and artifacts...Users may browse by Types of Art, Themes, and Time Period..." [Choice, Nov. 2008]
The National Gallery, London
"...[T]he main purpose here is to provide general and practical information in preparation for a visit to the National Gallery building and its collection...A database of images and didactic texts gives access to a listing of 2,300 paintings in the collection, ranging from the 13th through the early 20th century. Searching is alphabetical by the artist's name...An art glossary provides a helpful adjunct source for visitors..." [Choice, Oct. 2011]
New York Art Resources Consortium
NYARC "...comprises the research libraries of three New York City Museums: The Brooklyn Museum, The Frick Collection, and the Museum of Modern Art...The website functions as a portal...to the Arcade online catalog that unites the the collections of the three member museum libraries." It also provides "access to a growing number of digital collections" including the Frick Digital Image Archive. [Choice, Apr. 2012]
Norman Rockwell. Really. Combines the more than 4000 records and images of the artist's work from the "Definitive Catalogue" (1986) and 672 further images of works added since then. Additional materials such as letters, fan mail, and memorabilia are included. What Rockwell thought about the creation of specific works is also available.
The BBC is compiling an interactive database of paintings from across the United Kingdom. It will ultimately contain some 200,000 works by about 40,000 artists. It grows monthly through 2012 (its projected completion date). It allows users to "tag" works to assist other users to locate works and to add their own knowledge about them to the database.
Order a Book
Suggest a book for adding to Cowles Library's collection.
Social Media for Artists
WetCanvas: Online Living for Artists
"WetCanvas is a website with an underlying model of social networking. Geared to people working in creative fields, it is incredibly powerful and effective at connecting artists to one another...The site covers all the media in which artists (or aspiring artists) work...Its alphabetically arranged Content Channels range from Abstract/Contemporary Art to Wearable Art." Content is user generated so those interested in the site will have to take some time exploring it before they can take full advantage of all its features. [Choice, Aug. '14]